California / Reports /
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Oceanside City, Oct 7, 2026
Ended (as reported) · California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)
Source: California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database) via State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file), record 908514, reported Oct 7, 2026, 12:45 PM PDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 15:08 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 1:03 AM PST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Oceanside City (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, 9SSO10674). Outlet: “Leisure Village I LS - [house number removed] Cannon Rd. Oceanside, Ca. 92056”. Location: 33.16429, -117.26933; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Dry creek / canyon”. Not linked to a mapped water. Name match too far (616.6 km; limit 12.0 km: the river record's extent (47.3 km, counted to 10 km) plus 2 km).
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 19,875 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “19,875 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 6,030 gallons reached surface water; 13,845 gallons recovered”
Advice from California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- State Water Board CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System spill data: Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt (nightly flat file)
- Source record number
- 908514
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile:908514 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ca-swrcb-ciwqs-spills-flatfile |
| Source record number | 908514 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ca-oceanside |
| Sewer operator | Oceanside City |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | 9SSO10674 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Leisure Village I LS - [house number removed] Cannon Rd. Oceanside, Ca. 92056 |
| Water named in the report | Dry creek / canyon |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 33.164 |
| Longitude | -117.269 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Oct 7, 2026, 7:10 AM PDT (2026-10-07T07:10:00-07:00) |
| Ended | Oct 7, 2026, 9:49 AM PDT (2026-10-07T09:49:00-07:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Oct 7, 2026, 12:45 PM PDT (2026-10-07T12:45:00-07:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Oct 7, 2026, 12:00 AM PDT (2026-10-07) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 5, 2026, 7:08 AM PST (2026-11-05T15:08:28Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 19,875 |
| Volume as reported | 19,875 gallons spilled (estimated total leaving the sewer system); 6,030 gallons reached surface water; 13,845 gallons recovered |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | California State Water Resources Control Board (CIWQS Sanitary Sewer System Database) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/sso/docs/data_files/Cat1-2-3-Spills.txt |
Original source data
{
"region": "9",
"wdid": "9SSO10674",
"enrollee_status": "Active",
"system_name": "City of Oceanside Collection System, La Salina WWTP",
"agency_name": "Oceanside City",
"spill_event_id": "908514",
"version": "1.3",
"spill_status": "Certified",
"draft_submitted_on": "07-OCT-26",
"first_certified_on": "07-OCT-26",
"final_certified_on": "07-OCT-26",
"spill_type": "Category 1 Spill",
"location_name": "Leisure Village I LS - [house number removed] Cannon Rd. Oceanside, Ca. 92056",
"enrollee_notified_at": "10/07/2026 07:10",
"crew_arrival_at": "10/07/2026 07:35",
"start_at": "10/07/2026 07:10",
"caloes_notified_at": "10/07/2026 12:45",
"caloes_control_number": "26-5223",
"technical_report_on": null,
"lat": "33.16429",
"lon": "-117.26933",
"appearance_points": "Force Main",
"volume_total_gal": "19875",
"reached_drainage_system": "Y",
"volume_recovered_from_drainage_gal": "0",
"volume_left_in_drainage_gal": "6030",
"volume_to_surface_water_gal": "6030",
"volume_recovered_gal": "13845",
"destinations": "Unpaved Surface",
"destination_points_given": "Y",
"end_at": "10/07/2026 09:49",
"causes": "Other (specify below)",
"failure_location": "Force Main",
"storm_event": "N",
"response_completed_at": "10/07/2026 14:55",
"receiving_water": "Dry creek / canyon",
"receiving_water_type": "Stream/Creek",
"public_access_impact": "Other (specify below)",
"closing_entity": "No closure",
"days_closed_or_restricted": "0",
"within_1000_ft_of_intake": "N",
"samples_collected": "Y",
"spill_category": "1",
"reached_water": true,
"destination_points": [
{
"lat": 33.164,
"lon": -117.269
}
]
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.