Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), Aug 15, 2026
Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record GA0026140:M-2026818-1021395:1, reported Aug 20, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Duplicate. This report repeats another record. The newest version sets the map status.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0026140). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Olley Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Olley Creek, GA. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Public source
- Source record number
- GA0026140:M-2026818-1021395:1
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | echo-sewer-overflow:GA0026140:M-2026818-1021395:1 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | echo-sewer-overflow |
| Source record number | GA0026140:M-2026818-1021395:1 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ga-cobb-county |
| Sewer operator | Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | GA0026140 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Olley Creek |
| Linked waters | olley-creek-ga |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 15, 2026, 7:00 PM EDT (2026-08-15T19:00:00) |
| Ended | Aug 15, 2026, 7:45 PM EDT (2026-08-15T19:45:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 20, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-08-20) |
| Published | Nov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-04) |
| Source last updated | Nov 4, 2026, 7:16 AM EST (2026-11-04T12:16:43Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 8:05 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:05:44Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=GA0026140&sys=ICP |
Original source data
{
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27221",
"permit_identifier": "GA0026140",
"program_report_form_set_id": "M-2026818-1021395",
"program_report_form_id": "1",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
"program_report_received_date": "2026-08-20",
"program_report_start_date": "2026-08-15",
"program_report_end_date": "2026-08-15",
"electronic_submission_type_code": "ES2",
"electr_submission_type_desc": "Authorized NPDES program electronic reporting system",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
"payload_id": "317573380",
"transaction_type": "R",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
"sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
"wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
"collection_system_identifier": "GA0026140",
"latitude_measure": "33.829833",
"longitude_measure": "-84.456639",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "0.00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-08-15 19:00:00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-08-15 19:45:00",
"event_transaction_type": "R",
"types": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
],
"receiving_waters": [
"Olley Creek"
],
"impacts": [
{
"code": "SLS",
"desc": "Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure (caused by problem in sewer collection system, not private lateral)",
"other": null
}
],
"causes": [
{
"code": "PSE",
"desc": "Pump Station - Operator Error",
"other": null
}
],
"corrective_actions": [],
"treatment": [
{
"code": "NON",
"desc": "No Sewer Overflow Treatment",
"bypassed_equipment": null
}
],
"collection_system_name": null,
"percent_collection_system_css": null,
"reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
"timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
"report_version": "1",
"reported_point": [
33.829833,
-84.456639
],
"point_note": "the same point is given for 114 reports of this permit: taken as the permit's location, not the spill's"
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.