DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others)

Sewer utility · Georgia · Marietta, Smyrna, Mableton

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0026140
Wastewater outlets
3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 43 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Chattahoochee River
Tracked waters
Chattahoochee River, GA, Noonday Creek, GA, Little Noonday Creek, GA, Clay Branch, GA, Olley Creek, GA, Rubes Creek, GA, Clark Creek, GA, Sope Creek, GA, Rottenwood Creek, GA, Noses Creek, GA, Nickajack Creek, GA, Allatoona Creek, GA, Butler Creek, GA, Willeo Creek, GA, Horse Creek, GA, Trickum Creek, GA, Buttermilk Creek, GA, Tate Creek, GA, Sewell Mill Creek, GA
Discharge records counted
121 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
199,835 gallons across the 79 records that give a volume (42 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 43 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

3 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

43 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Aug 4, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Apr 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 21, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 25, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 19, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 4, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 17, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 43.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Chattahoochee River · 5913 Heavenwood Drive Southeast Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
to 4:45 PMNoonday Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 7Noonday Creek · 1347 Marietta Country Club Drive Northwest Kennesaw, Georgia 30152 · SSO · 180 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:45 PM“Tributary to Laurel Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Oct 2“Tributary to Laurel Creek” · 30 Pineridge Road Southeast Smyrna, Georgia 30080 · SSO · 3,700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:39 PM“Gordon Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Sep 23“Gordon Creek” · 6276 Vera Lane Southwest Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO · 5,340 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:40 PMLittle Noonday Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 3Little Noonday Creek · 2932 Canton Road Marietta, Georgia 30066 · SSO · 60 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:50 AM“Parker Fairway Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Aug 26“Parker Fairway Creek” · 62 Troup Court Acworth, Georgia 30101 · SSO · 120 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:55 AMChattahoochee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 21Chattahoochee River · 8110 Troon Circle Austell, Georgia 30168 · SSO · 1,360 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 17, 12:54 AMClay Branch · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 17Clay Branch · 4862 Conductor Way Southwest Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO · 720 gallons report · notice · mapended
Chattahoochee River · 4836 Conductor Way Southwest Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 7:45 PMOlley Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 15Olley Creek · 1675 Milford Church Rd Marietta, Georgia 30008 · SSO · 25,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:15 AMNoonday Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 10Noonday Creek · 1184 Smithwell Point Northwest Kennesaw, Georgia 30152 · SSO · 890 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:45 PMOlley Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 7Olley Creek · 920 South Cobb Drive Fair Oaks, Georgia 30008 · SSO · 19,320 gallons report · notice · mapended
Chattahoochee River · 182 Westside Drive Marietta, Georgia 30008 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 2:40 PM“Tributary to Piney Grove Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to 9:36 AM“Tributary to Walden Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 213 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (133 from Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others)) · 2025 (80 from Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Noonday Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Noonday Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Little Noonday Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Little Noonday Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Clay Branch 1, Olley Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

5 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), last 12 months72December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), last 12 months63December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others)'s reports, last 12 months1,464December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others))15%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

121 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 9 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 79 reports that gave a volume as a number (42 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

42 of 121 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

9 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 9 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 83, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update