DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Waters /

Nickajack Creek

Stream in Georgia, past Fair Oaks, Mableton and Smyrna

Current status

No current status shown

No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Check Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.

Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Nickajack Creek in Georgia, last 12 months77 affecting this stretch: 7 reported on the Nickajack Creek; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Nickajack Creek in Georgia, last 12 months7Reported on the Nickajack Creek in Georgia: 7 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Nickajack Creek in Georgia, last 12 months168Reported on the Nickajack Creek in Georgia: 168 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Nickajack Creek in Georgia0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Nickajack Creek in Georgia0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

11 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 9 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 of 11 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 10, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Nickajack Creek

Reports linked to Nickajack Creek, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 8:51 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 12Cobb County Water System · 3348 Creek Valley Drive Southeast Smyrna, Georgia 30082 · SSO · 340 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:35 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 7Cobb County Water System · 1901 Old Concord Road Smyrna, Georgia 30080 · SSO · 70 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:08 AMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 27Cobb County Water System · 347 Pat Mell Road Southeast Marietta, Georgia 30060 · SSO · 110 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:30 AMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jan 27Cobb County Water System · 2091 Austell Road Southwest Marietta, Georgia 30008 · SSO · 320 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:53 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jan 14Cobb County Water System · 2001 Old Concord Road Smyrna, Georgia 30080 · SSO · 230 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:40 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 26 ’25Cobb County Water System · 4901 Crowe Drive Southeast Smyrna, Georgia 30082 · SSO · 740 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:40 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 9 ’25Cobb County Water System · 188 Covered Bridge Trail Smyrna, Georgia 30082 · SSO · 6,440 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:33 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 15 ’25Cobb County Water System · 375 Cranfill Road Southeast Marietta, Georgia 30060 · SSO · 220 gallons report · notice · mapended
Cobb County Water System · 1434 Glynn Oaks Drive Southwest Marietta, Georgia 30008 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 8:05 PMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 25 ’25Cobb County Water System · 1941 Kenwood Road Southeast Smyrna, Georgia 30082 · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:27 PMCobb County Water System · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC; Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (10 here) · 2025 (10 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others).

Boat launches

No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

11 records linked to this water, besides 9 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .