Sandy Creek
Stream in Georgia, past Atlanta, Mableton and South Fulton
Current status
Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Check City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Caution: a discharge was reported, dated to the day only with no end; caution for 72 hours from the start of that day (site rule)
Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0039012-20…, published Nov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC · Original notice · Updated
Reports behind this status
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Atlanta Watershed Management · 476 Camrose Way Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 92 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 12:00 AM |
Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
The last 90 days
- Caution: to the latest update 1 report: Atlanta Watershed Management 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Atlanta Watershed Management 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Atlanta Watershed Management 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Sandy Creek in Georgia, last 12 months66 affecting this stretch: 6 reported on the Sandy Creek; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Sandy Creek in Georgia, last 12 months6Reported on the Sandy Creek in Georgia: 6 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Sandy Creek in Georgia, last 12 months120Reported on the Sandy Creek in Georgia: 120 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Sandy Creek in Georgia0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Sandy Creek in Georgia2Reported on the Sandy Creek in Georgia: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
This record covers the Sandy Creek within Georgia; the same river upstream is a separate record.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
8 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 3 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 1 | |
| November 2025 | 1 | |
| December 2025 | 1 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 2 | |
| April 2026 | 1 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | |
| November 2026 | 1 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 8 reports that gave a volume as a number.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 1,800 | 3 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 5,481 | 5 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
3 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 24 | 0.3% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 96 | 1.3% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 1 |
| February | 0 | 1 |
| March | 2 | 1 |
| April | 1 | 1 |
| May | 0 | 1 |
| June | 0 | 1 |
| July | 0 | 1 |
| August | 0 | 1 |
| September | 0 | 2 |
| October | 2 | 2 |
| November | 2 | 2 |
| December | 1 | 1 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 6 of 6, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| 3751 Martin Luther King Junior Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 | 2 |
| 302 Woodstock Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 | 2 |
| 476 Camrose Way Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 | 1 |
| 901 Bolton Road Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30318 | 1 |
| 3718 Martin Luther King Jr Dr SW Atlanta, Georgia 30331 | 1 |
| 3530 Fairlane Drive Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update
Reports linked to Sandy Creek
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Atlanta Watershed Management · 476 Camrose Way Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 92 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 12:00 AM | |
| to 1:00 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 12 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 901 Bolton Road Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30318 · SSO · 270 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:40 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 15 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 3751 Martin Luther King Junior Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 164 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 23 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 3751 Martin Luther King Junior Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 330 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 20 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 3718 Martin Luther King Jr Dr SW Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 4,625 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:40 AM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Dec 17 ’25 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 302 Woodstock Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:30 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 12 ’25, 1:20 PM | Atlanta Watershed Management · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 12 ’25 | Atlanta Watershed Management · 302 Woodstock Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 1,050 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Atlanta Watershed Management · 3530 Fairlane Drive Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | reported |
Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.
All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (9 here) · 2025 (7 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs).
Boat launches
No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.
Nearby waters
- Proctor Creek, GA Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 3 km away
- Utoy Creek, GA No current status shown about 6 km away
- Nickajack Creek, GA No current status shown about 9 km away
- Peachtree Creek, GA Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 10 km away
- Clear Creek, GA Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 11 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC
8 records linked to this water, besides 8 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .