DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)

Sewer utility with combined sewers · Georgia · Atlanta

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Dashed river stretches are estimates of where a discharge travels. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0039012, GA0037168, GA0038644
Wastewater outlets
6 combined sewer outfalls and 5 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 59 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Chattahoochee River; Peachtree Creek; Utoy Creek; Camp Creek; Nancy Creek; South River; Intrenchment Creek; Clear Creek; Proctor Creek; Tanyard Creek
Tracked waters
Chattahoochee River, GA, Clear Creek, GA, Intrenchment Creek, GA, Proctor Creek, GA, Sandy Creek, GA, Camp Creek, GA, Peachtree Creek, GA, Utoy Creek, GA, Nancy Creek, GA, Sugar Creek, GA, South River, GA, Stone Mountain Lake, GA
Discharge records counted
165 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
222,685 gallons across the 146 records that give a volume (19 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Rain and discharges

The NOAA MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate for the 24 hours to the latest hour, read every hour at each outfall from the radar grid. We show a caution when the rain reaches the amount below and no discharge report has arrived.

Permit GA0037168

Threshold
0.1 in of rain in 24 hours (site default: This site's default: 0.1 inch of rain in 24 hours at a combined sewer outfall, applied where the state publishes no rain trigger of its own)
Radar now
10.5 in in the 24 hours to Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST
Forecast
0 in forecast in the next 24 hours (NWS forecast issued Nov 4, 2026, 1:26 PM EST)
Status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:22 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible.

Permit GA0038644

Threshold
0.1 in of rain in 24 hours (site default: This site's default: 0.1 inch of rain in 24 hours at a combined sewer outfall, applied where the state publishes no rain trigger of its own)
Radar now
16.2 in in the 24 hours to Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST
Forecast
0 in forecast in the next 24 hours (NWS forecast issued Nov 4, 2026, 1:26 PM EST)
Status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:22 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible.

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

6 combined sewer outfalls and 5 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 59 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Combined sewer outfalls

6 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.

Treatment plant outfalls

5 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

59 places · 12 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 10 overflow reports, latest Oct 20, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Oct 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Dec 17, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 27, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 10, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jun 23, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 19, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 2, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 18, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 12, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 59.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Sandy Creek · 476 Camrose Way Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 92 gallons report · notice · mapto Dec 2, 12:00 AM
to 3:30 PMCamp Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 27Camp Creek · 3000 Continental Colony Parkway Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 1,160 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · 3000 Continental Colony Parkway Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to Oct 24, 2:40 PMCamp Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 24Camp Creek · 3000 Continental Colony Parkway Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 5,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:00 PMPeachtree Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 22Peachtree Creek · Woodland Hills Ave NW & Collier Rd NW Atlanta, Georgia 30318 · SSO · 1,825 gallons report · notice · mapended
Chattahoochee River · 970 Collier Road Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30318 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
Water not mapped · 409 Harlan Road Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30311 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · noticereported
to 12:15 PMUtoy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 20Chattahoochee River · 3121 Gold Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30311 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:30 PMNancy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 19Nancy Creek · 4388 Glengary Drive Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30342 · SSO · 90 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:43 PMUtoy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 18“UTOY CREEK” · 1046 Sparks Street Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30310 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMSandy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 12Sandy Creek · 901 Bolton Road Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30318 · SSO · 270 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:30 PMUtoy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 7Utoy Creek · 400 Fairburn Road Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 3,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:00 PMUtoy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 6Utoy Creek · 400 Fairburn Road Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30331 · SSO · 2,400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:30 PMPeachtree Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 2Peachtree Creek · 120 Biscayne Drive Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30309 · SSO · 4,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 6:45 PMNancy Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 289 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (200 from City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)) · 2025 (89 from City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • End not confirmed: to the latest update
    1 report: Sandy Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Sandy Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Camp Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Camp Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Camp Creek 1, Peachtree Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    2 reports: Camp Creek 1, Peachtree Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Nancy Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    2 reports: Chattahoochee River 1, Nancy Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Chattahoochee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Sandy Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

29 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs), last 12 months126December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs), last 12 months102December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)'s reports, last 12 months1,757December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs))18%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

165 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 64 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 146 reports that gave a volume as a number (19 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

19 of 165 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

64 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 64 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 134, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update