DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF)

Sewer utility · Georgia · Lawrenceville

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0038130
Wastewater outlets
3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 29 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Yellow River; Pew Creek
Tracked waters
Lake Lanier, GA, Pew Creek, GA, Yellow River, GA, Beaver Ruin Creek, GA, Singleton Creek, GA, Chattahoochee River, GA, Bennett Creek, GA, Little Suwanee Creek, GA, Jackson Creek, GA, Big Haynes Creek, GA, North Fork Peachtree Creek, GA, Bromolow Creek, GA, Fork Creek, GA, Cedar Creek, GA, Alcovy River, GA, Level Creek, GA, Ivy Creek, GA, Jacks Creek, GA
Discharge records counted
47 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
122,103 gallons across the 39 records that give a volume (8 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 29 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

3 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

29 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 16, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 9, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 13, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 4, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 6, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 29.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Pew Creek · 360 Thornbush Trce Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046 · SSO · 4,024 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
to 8:28 PMYellow River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 29Yellow River · 1007 Duluth Highway Lawrenceville, Georgia 30043 · SSO · 4,724 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:30 PMBeaver Ruin Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 26Beaver Ruin Creek · 5094 Singleton Road Norcross, Georgia 30093 · SSO · 8,590 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:45 PM“Unnamed Tributary of Crooked Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Sep 23“Unnamed Tributary of Crooked Creek” · 5985 Peachtree Parkway Northwest Peachtree Corners, Georgia 30092 · SSO · 5,006 gallons report · noticeended
to 3:10 PM“Unnamed Tributary of Shoal Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Aug 5“Unnamed Tributary of Shoal Creek” · 80 Martin Spring Road Lawrenceville, Georgia 30045 · SSO · 4,521 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:15 PMSingleton Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 29Singleton Creek · 2283 Grady Ridge Trail Duluth, Georgia 30097 · SSO · 8,219 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:15 AM“Unnamed Tributary of Shoal Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Jul 25“Unnamed Tributary of Shoal Creek” · 900 Kirtley Way Southeast Lawrenceville, Georgia 30045 · SSO · 3,057 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:20 AMChattahoochee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 9Chattahoochee River · 4015 Longlake Drive Duluth, Georgia 30097 · SSO · 1,470 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:15 PMBeaver Ruin Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 7Beaver Ruin Creek · 4589 Rosemear Court Norcross, Georgia 30093 · SSO · 2,814 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:50 PMYellow River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 13Yellow River · 633 Russell Road Lawrenceville, Georgia 30043 · SSO · 954 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:25 AMBennett Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 12Bennett Creek · 1674 Chelsea Falls Lane Suwanee, Georgia 30024 · SSO · 5,606 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:38 AMLittle Suwanee Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 11Little Suwanee Creek · 621 Old Peachtree Road Northeast Lawrenceville, Georgia 30043 · SSO · 1,192 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:09 PM“Sweetwater creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to May 4“Sweetwater creek” · 3250 Buford Highway Duluth, Georgia 30096 · SSO · 3,526 gallons report · noticeended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 84 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (55 from Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF)) · 2025 (29 from Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: Pew Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Yellow River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Yellow River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Beaver Ruin Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Beaver Ruin Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF), last 12 months32December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF), last 12 months29December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF)'s reports, last 12 months672December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF))6.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

47 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 39 reports that gave a volume as a number (8 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

8 of 47 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 6 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 38, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update