DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Waters /

Chattahoochee River

River in Georgia, past Carrollton, Centralhatchee, Columbia, Columbus, Cusseta, Donalsonville, Franklin, Johns Creek, Lithia Springs, Lula, Peachtree Corners and Rogers Mill

Current status

Caution

Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source

This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Dashed river stretches are estimates.

Check City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received: heavy rain at a sewer operator's outlets reached this site's default amount, and no report received; shown for 48 hours after the rain (site rule). 16.8 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST at City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs)'s outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:19 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Chattahoochee River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Cobb County Water System · 5913 Heavenwood Drive Southeast Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Estimated downstream stretches on Chattahoochee River

none from a report; 13 routes below outlets with a status

No stretch below a reported discharge has a current status here as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. The routes below wastewater outlets carry the status shown on each.

Estimated routes below wastewater outlets

13 routes below outlets
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 001 · 38.098 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 002 · 37.686 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 003 · 37.08 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 004 · 36.921 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 005 · 36.645 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 006 · 36.122 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 007 · 35.926 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 008 · 35.419 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 009 · 34.909 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 010 · 33.965 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 011 · 33.405 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0036838, outlet 012 · 32.826 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • Caution Permit GA0038644, outlet 001 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit

Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    Radar estimate, no report received: heavy rain at the outlets of Atlanta Watershed Management, Columbus Water Works
    1 report: Cobb County Water System 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Atlanta Watershed Management 1, Columbus Water Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    2 reports: Atlanta Watershed Management 1, Columbus Water Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Atlanta Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Columbus Water Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Columbus Water Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Atlanta Watershed Management 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Atlanta Watershed Management 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Fulton County Public Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Fulton County Public Works 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

12 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Chattahoochee River in Georgia, last 12 months4646 affecting this stretch: 46 reported on the Chattahoochee River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Chattahoochee River in Georgia, last 12 months38Reported on the Chattahoochee River in Georgia: 38 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Chattahoochee River in Georgia, last 12 months532Reported on the Chattahoochee River in Georgia: 532 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Chattahoochee River in Georgia5.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Chattahoochee River in Georgia16Reported on the Chattahoochee River in Georgia: 14 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Other records (rain-likely and similar): 2last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

This record covers the Chattahoochee River within Georgia; the same river upstream is a separate record.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

57 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 27 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 28 reports that gave a volume as a number (29 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

29 of 57 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

27 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 27 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 49, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Chattahoochee River

Reports linked to Chattahoochee River, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Cobb County Water System · 5913 Heavenwood Drive Southeast Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
Atlanta Watershed Management · 970 Collier Road Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30318 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 2:54 PMColumbus Water Works · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 21Columbus Water Works · 5310 Chumar Drive Columbus, Georgia 31904 · SSO · 1,219 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 20Atlanta Watershed Management · 3121 Gold Drive Southwest Atlanta, Georgia 30311 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:58 PMColumbus Water Works · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 9Columbus Water Works · 158 Challenger Court Columbus, Georgia 31902 · SSO · 3,116 gallons report · notice · mapended
Atlanta Watershed Management · 3424 Roswell Road Northeast Atlanta, Georgia 30305 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
Fulton County Public Works · 278 Devonshire Drive Alpharetta, Georgia 30022 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
Atlanta Watershed Management · Multiple Locations Atlanta , GA 30303 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 12:00 AMAtlanta Watershed Management · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 11Fulton County Public Works · 5703 Three Lakes Drive Atlanta, Georgia 30349 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapended
to 3:27 PMFulton County Public Works · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 7Fulton County Public Works · 410 Roswell Hills Place Roswell, Georgia 30075 · SSO · 2,370 gallons report · notice · mapended
Fulton County Public Works · 400 Roswell Hills Place Roswell, Georgia 30075 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 12:00 PMAtlanta Watershed Management · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 12:00 PMAtlanta Watershed Management · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 9:55 AMCobb County Water System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 21Cobb County Water System · 8110 Troon Circle Austell, Georgia 30168 · SSO · 1,360 gallons report · notice · mapended
Cobb County Water System · 4836 Conductor Way Southwest Mableton, Georgia 30126 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
LaGrange, City of · 111 Airport Parkway LaGrange, Georgia 30240 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
Cobb County Water System · 182 Westside Drive Marietta, Georgia 30008 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to Jul 24Fulton County Public Works · 226 Riverview Trail Roswell, Georgia 30075 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapended
Atlanta Watershed Management · 725 Gresham Avenue Southeast Atlanta, Georgia 30316 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 9:20 AMGwinnett County Water Resources · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 100 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (74 here) · 2025 (26 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management (combined sewer system; R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek and South River WRCs), Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), COBB COUNTY WATER SYSTEM (SOUTH COBB WRF), Columbus Water Works (combined sewer system and South Columbus WRF), DOUGLASVILLE-DOUGLAS COUNTY WATER & SEWERAGE AUTHORITY (SOUTH CENTRAL WPCP), DOUGLASVILLE-DOUGLAS COUNTY WATER & SEWERAGE AUTHORITY (SWEETWATER CREEK WPCP), FORSYTH COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF WATER & SEWER (DICK CREEK WRF), FORSYTH COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND SEWER (FOWLER & SHAKERAG WRF), FORT GAINES, CITY OF (FORT GAINES WPCP), Fulton County Department of Public Works (Big Creek WRF and others), FULTON COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS (CAMP CREEK WPCP), FULTON COUNTY PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT (JOHNS CREEK ENVIRONMENTAL CAMPUS WRF), GWINNETT COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES (CROOKED CREEK WRF), HEARD COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY (HEARD COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY WPCP), LAGRANGE, CITY OF (LONG CANE CREEK WPCP), WEST POINT, CITY OF (WEST POINT WPCP), Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources (F. Wayne Hill WRF).

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Chattahoochee River on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

57 records linked to this water, besides 43 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .