Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others), Aug 26, 2026
Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record GA0026140:M-2026826-1022902:1, reported Aug 31, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Duplicate. This report repeats another record. The newest version sets the map status.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0026140). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Parker Fairway Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Public source
- Source record number
- GA0026140:M-2026826-1022902:1
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | echo-sewer-overflow:GA0026140:M-2026826-1022902:1 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | echo-sewer-overflow |
| Source record number | GA0026140:M-2026826-1022902:1 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ga-cobb-county |
| Sewer operator | Cobb County Water System (R.L. Sutton WRF and others) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | GA0026140 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Parker Fairway Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 26, 2026, 10:50 AM EDT (2026-08-26T10:50:00) |
| Ended | Aug 26, 2026, 11:50 AM EDT (2026-08-26T11:50:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 31, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-08-31) |
| Published | Nov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EST (2026-11-04) |
| Source last updated | Nov 4, 2026, 7:16 AM EST (2026-11-04T12:16:43Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 5, 2026, 1:08 AM EST (2026-11-05T06:08:40Z) |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=GA0026140&sys=ICP |
Original source data
{
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27285",
"permit_identifier": "GA0026140",
"program_report_form_set_id": "M-2026826-1022902",
"program_report_form_id": "1",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
"program_report_received_date": "2026-08-31",
"program_report_start_date": "2026-08-26",
"program_report_end_date": "2026-08-26",
"electronic_submission_type_code": "ES2",
"electr_submission_type_desc": "Authorized NPDES program electronic reporting system",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_desc": "Sewer Overflow/Bypass Event Report ",
"payload_id": "318031510",
"transaction_type": "R",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
"sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
"wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
"collection_system_identifier": "GA0026140",
"latitude_measure": "33.829833",
"longitude_measure": "-84.456639",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "1.00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-08-26 10:50:00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-08-26 11:50:00",
"event_transaction_type": "R",
"types": [
"Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
],
"receiving_waters": [
"Parker Fairway Creek"
],
"impacts": [
{
"code": "ODO",
"desc": "Odors",
"other": null
},
{
"code": "SLS",
"desc": "Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure (caused by problem in sewer collection system, not private lateral)",
"other": null
}
],
"causes": [
{
"code": "BOD",
"desc": "Blockage - Other Debris",
"other": null
}
],
"corrective_actions": [
{
"code": "FLU",
"desc": "Sewer Flushing, Rodding, Blockage/Debris Removal",
"other": null
}
],
"treatment": [
{
"code": "NON",
"desc": "No Sewer Overflow Treatment",
"bypassed_equipment": null
}
],
"collection_system_name": null,
"percent_collection_system_css": null,
"reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
"timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; recorded as given (presumably local time)",
"report_version": "1",
"reported_point": [
33.829833,
-84.456639
],
"point_note": "the same point is given for 114 reports of this permit: taken as the permit's location, not the spill's"
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.