DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Illinois / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — DANVILLE SANITARY DISTRICT STP SSCS, Aug 15, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record IL0020788:2:2, reported Aug 20, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: DANVILLE SANITARY DISTRICT STP SSCS (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, IL0020788). Outlet: not stated. Location: 40.10357, -87.59608; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Stoney Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Stoney Creek, IL. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
285 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“285 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Public source
Source record number
IL0020788:2:2
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:IL0020788:2:2
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberIL0020788:2:2
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorDANVILLE SANITARY DISTRICT STP SSCS
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)IL0020788
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportStoney Creek
Linked watersstoney-creek-il
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude40.104
Longitude-87.596
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 15, 2026, 12:30 PM CDT (2026-08-15T12:30:00-05:00)
EndedAug 15, 2026, 6:30 PM CDT (2026-08-15T18:30:00-05:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 20, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT (2026-08-20)
PublishedNov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM CST (2026-11-04)
Source last updatedNov 4, 2026, 6:21 AM CST (2026-11-04T12:21:15Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 6, 2026, 2:38 AM CST (2026-11-06T08:38:59Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons285
Volume as reported285 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=IL0020788&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "permit_identifier": "IL0020788",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "2",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27168",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "2",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "2",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "Other noncompliance reporting",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "Y",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_code": "MAN",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_desc": "Manhole",
  "collection_system_identifier": "001",
  "latitude_measure": "40.103574",
  "longitude_measure": "-87.596082",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "6.00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-08-15 12:30:00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-08-15 18:30:00",
  "discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
  "discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "285.00",
  "payload_id": "317320970",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-08-20",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-08-14",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-08-17",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "collection_system_owner_type_code": "CTG",
  "collection_system_owner_type_desc": "Municipality",
  "collection_system_population": "28472",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Stoney Creek"
  ],
  "impacts": [
    {
      "code": "NOI",
      "desc": "No observable impacts",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "HLI",
      "desc": "High Levels of Inflow and/or Infiltration",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [
    {
      "code": "III",
      "desc": "Implement Inflow and Infiltration Control Program",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": "DANVILLE SANITARY DISTRICT STP SSCS",
  "percent_collection_system_css": "0",
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; read as America/Chicago, the permit's state's zone (a fall-back hour that happens twice is read as the first)",
  "report_version": "1"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.