DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Illinois / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — BELLEVILLE STP #1, CITY OF, Sep 16, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record IL0021873:34:1, reported Sep 16, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: BELLEVILLE STP #1, CITY OF (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, IL0021873). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.57099, -90.05652; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Powdermill Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Powdermill Creek, IL. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“combined sewage and stormwater”
Volume
50,000 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“50,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Public source
Source record number
IL0021873:34:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:IL0021873:34:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberIL0021873:34:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifieril-belleville-stp-1-city-of
Sewer operatorBELLEVILLE STP #1, CITY OF
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)IL0021873
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportPowdermill Creek
Linked waterspowdermill-creek-il
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude38.571
Longitude-90.057
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 16, 2026, 12:30 AM CDT (2026-09-16T00:30:00-05:00)
EndedSep 16, 2026, 1:30 AM CDT (2026-09-16T01:30:00-05:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 16, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT (2026-09-16)
PublishedNov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM CST (2026-11-04)
Source last updatedNov 4, 2026, 6:21 AM CST (2026-11-04T12:21:15Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 6, 2026, 2:38 AM CST (2026-11-06T08:38:59Z)
Materialcombined sewage and stormwater
Volume, in gallons50,000
Volume as reported50,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=IL0021873&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "permit_identifier": "IL0021873",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "34",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27432",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_description_text": "88th Street Lift Station",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "3",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "Wet-weather CSO reporting requirement not related to noncompliance reporting",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "Y",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_code": "PUM",
  "sewer_overflow_structure_type_desc": "Pumping Station",
  "collection_system_identifier": "001",
  "latitude_measure": "38.570985",
  "longitude_measure": "-90.056517",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "1.00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-09-16 00:30:00",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-09-16 01:30:00",
  "discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
  "discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "50000.00",
  "payload_id": "319887308",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-09-16",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-09-15",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-09-15",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "collection_system_owner_type_code": "CTG",
  "collection_system_owner_type_desc": "Municipality",
  "collection_system_population": "42404",
  "types": [
    "Combined Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Powdermill Creek"
  ],
  "impacts": [
    {
      "code": "NOI",
      "desc": "No observable impacts",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "HLI",
      "desc": "High Levels of Inflow and/or Infiltration",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [
    {
      "code": "FLU",
      "desc": "Sewer Flushing, Rodding, Blockage/Debris Removal",
      "other": null
    }
  ],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": "BELLEVILLE STP #1, CITY OF SSCS",
  "percent_collection_system_css": "50",
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; read as America/Chicago, the permit's state's zone (a fall-back hour that happens twice is read as the first)",
  "report_version": "1"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.