DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Illinois / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Aug 11, 2026

Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record IL0064998:2:1, reported Aug 13, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: City of Crest Hill (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, IL0064998). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.56611, -88.08417; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Des Plaines River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Des Plaines River, IL. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Public source
Source record number
IL0064998:2:1
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierecho-sewer-overflow:IL0064998:2:1
Source identifierecho-sewer-overflow
Source record numberIL0064998:2:1
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)IL0064998
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportDes Plaines River
Linked watersdes-plaines-river-il
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude41.566
Longitude-88.084
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 11, 2026 (2026-08-11)
EndedAug 12, 2026 (2026-08-12)
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceAug 13, 2026 (2026-08-13)
PublishedNov 4, 2026 (2026-11-04)
Source last updatedNov 4, 2026 (2026-11-04T12:21:15Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 6, 2026, 2:38 AM CST (2026-11-06T08:38:59Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityEPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=IL0064998&sys=ICP

Original source data

{
  "permit_identifier": "IL0064998",
  "program_report_form_set_id": "2",
  "program_report_form_id": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27073",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
  "sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
  "wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "Y",
  "latitude_measure": "41.566111",
  "longitude_measure": "-88.084167",
  "payload_id": "316437963",
  "event_transaction_type": "N",
  "program_report_received_date": "2026-08-13",
  "program_report_start_date": "2026-08-11",
  "program_report_end_date": "2026-08-12",
  "electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
  "electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
  "program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9B",
  "transaction_type": "N",
  "types": [
    "Sanitary Sewer Overflow Event"
  ],
  "receiving_waters": [
    "Des Plaines River"
  ],
  "impacts": [],
  "causes": [
    {
      "code": "OCE",
      "desc": "Other Cause in Sewer Collection System - Electrical Failure",
      "other": "Power company- Wide Spread Power Outage, transformer blew, power lines down, severe weather"
    }
  ],
  "corrective_actions": [],
  "treatment": [],
  "collection_system_name": null,
  "percent_collection_system_css": null,
  "reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
  "timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; read as America/Chicago, the permit's state's zone (a fall-back hour that happens twice is read as the first)",
  "report_version": "1",
  "extreme_event_note": "G9B extreme-event report: spills too numerous to list; times are the report period"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.