DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP), Aug 31, 2026

Not stated by the source · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0021725-20260831-4500-atlanta-hwy-bogart-ga-30622, published Sep 1, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0021725). Outlet: “4500 Atlanta Highway Bogart, Georgia 30622”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “No name Wetland”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
not given
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
, first read from an archived posting

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Not stated by the source
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
72 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“72 gallons”

Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
Source record number
ga0021725-20260831-4500-atlanta-hwy-bogart-ga-30622
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierga-epd-spills:ga0021725-20260831-4500-atlanta-hwy-bogart-ga-30622
Source identifierga-epd-spills
Source record numberga0021725-20260831-4500-atlanta-hwy-bogart-ga-30622
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportNot stated by the source
Sewer operator identifierga-ga0021725
Sewer operatorATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)GA0021725
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name4500 Atlanta Highway Bogart, Georgia 30622
Water named in the reportNo name Wetland
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 31, 2026 (2026-08-31)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedSep 1, 2026 (2026-09-01)
Source last updatedSep 30, 2026 (2026-09-30T14:03:23Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons72
Volume as reported72 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityGeorgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20260930/download

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "facility_name": "ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)",
    "begin_date": "2026-08-31",
    "county": "Clarke",
    "city": "Bogart",
    "overflow_location": "4500 Atlanta Highway Bogart, Georgia 30622",
    "quantity_gallons": "72",
    "overflow_type": "Raw Sewage",
    "permit_number": "GA0021725",
    "spill_source": "Collection System",
    "cause": "Blockage Other Debris, Other,",
    "river_basin": "Oconee",
    "waterway_impacted": "No name Wetland",
    "overflow_destination": "Spill Waters of the State"
  },
  "posting_date": "2026-09-30"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.