DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)

Sewer operator · Georgia · Athens

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0021725
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 17 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
North Oconee River; Reuse
Tracked waters
North Oconee River, GA, Middle Oconee River, GA, Cedar Creek, GA
Discharge records counted
26 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
36,853 gallons across the 18 records that give a volume (8 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Its public-notice channels

Source: ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 17 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

17 places · 1 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jun 25, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 30, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 24, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 14, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 24, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 25, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 5, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 17, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 1, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 17.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Water not mapped · 55 Gail Drive Athens, Georgia 30606 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · noticereported
to 9:28 AMNorth Oconee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 30North Oconee River · 373 Flint Street Athens, Georgia 30601 · SSO · 281 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · 555 Willow Street Athens, Georgia 30601 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · noticereported
to 10:16 AM“No name Wetland” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
“No name Wetland” · 4500 Atlanta Highway Bogart, Georgia 30622 · SSO · 72 gallons report · noticereported
“No name Wetland” · 4500 Atlanta Highway Bogart, Georgia 30622 · SSO · 72 gallons report · noticereported
to 9:24 PM“No name Creek to Middle Oconee” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Aug 29“No name Creek to Middle Oconee” · 196 Alps Road Athens, Georgia 30606 · SSO · 7,748 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:44 AMNorth Oconee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 14North Oconee River · 95 North Avenue Athens, Georgia 30601 · SSO · 690 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 26, 12:32 AMMiddle Oconee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 26Middle Oconee River · 120 River Court Athens, Georgia 30606 · SSO · 824 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:05 AMCedar Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 24Cedar Creek · 4160 Lexington Road Athens, Georgia 30605 · SSO · 1,213 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:25 AM“Shoals Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Jun 1“Shoals Creek” · 330 Weatherly Woods Drive Winterville, Georgia 30683 · SSO · 3,677 gallons report · noticeended
to 5:17 PM“Tributary to North Oconee Riverr” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to May 25“Tributary to North Oconee Riverr” · 250 Ansley Drive Athens, Georgia 30605 · SSO · 1,239 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:12 PMNorth Oconee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 13North Oconee River · 95 Willow Street Athens, Georgia 30601 · SSO · 881 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 6, 1:10 AM“Brooklyn Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to May 6“Brooklyn Creek” · 390 King Avenue Athens, Georgia 30606 · SSO · 6,829 gallons report · noticeended
Water not mapped · Oconee Trail Athens, Georgia 30607 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · noticereported
to 10:50 AM“Unknown Stream” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 44 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (34 from ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)) · 2025 (10 from ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: North Oconee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: North Oconee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: North Oconee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: North Oconee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP), last 12 months21December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP), last 12 months22December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)'s reports, last 12 months336December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP))6.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

26 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025. 10 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 18 reports that gave a volume as a number (8 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

8 of 26 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

10 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 10 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 25, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update