Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP), Sep 30, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0021725-20260930-373-flint-st-athens-ga-30601, published Oct 5, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0021725). Outlet: “373 Flint Street Athens, Georgia 30601”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “North Oconee River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to North Oconee River, GA. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
- , first read from an archived posting
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 281 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “281 gallons”
Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported North Oconee River: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT to Oct 1, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT
- Caution North Oconee River: Within the caution period after the reported end, Oct 1, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT to Oct 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
- Source record number
- ga0021725-20260930-373-flint-st-athens-ga-30601
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ga-epd-spills:ga0021725-20260930-373-flint-st-athens-ga-30601 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ga-epd-spills |
| Source record number | ga0021725-20260930-373-flint-st-athens-ga-30601 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ga-ga0021725 |
| Sewer operator | ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | GA0021725 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 373 Flint Street Athens, Georgia 30601 |
| Water named in the report | North Oconee River |
| Linked waters | north-oconee-river-ga |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 30, 2026 (2026-09-30) |
| Ended | Sep 30, 2026 (2026-09-30T09:28:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Oct 5, 2026 (2026-10-05) |
| Source last updated | Oct 30, 2026 (2026-10-30T13:21:06Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 281 |
| Volume as reported | 281 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20261030/download |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"facility_name": "ATHENS-CLARKE COUNTY (NORTH OCONEE WPCP)",
"begin_date": "2026-09-30",
"county": "Clarke",
"city": "Athens",
"overflow_location": "373 Flint Street Athens, Georgia 30601",
"quantity_gallons": "281",
"overflow_type": "",
"permit_number": "GA0021725",
"spill_source": "Collection System",
"cause": "",
"river_basin": "Oconee",
"waterway_impacted": "North Oconee River",
"overflow_destination": ""
},
"posting_date": "2026-10-30",
"epd_spill_end_date": {
"value": "2026-09-30",
"posting": "2026-10-13",
"note": "EPD's end date for the spill, day precision, given on this posting only; kept as given and not used as the record's end (a day gives no time the spill stopped)"
}
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.