DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF), Sep 11, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0024538-20260911-2661-pierce-ave-n-macon-ga-31220, published Sep 14, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0024538). Outlet: “2661 Pierce Avenue North Macon, Georgia 31220”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Ocmuglee”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the day only
Reported to the source
not given
Published
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
, first read from an archived posting

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
74,850 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“74,850 gallons”

Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
Source record number
ga0024538-20260911-2661-pierce-ave-n-macon-ga-31220
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierga-epd-spills:ga0024538-20260911-2661-pierce-ave-n-macon-ga-31220
Source identifierga-epd-spills
Source record numberga0024538-20260911-2661-pierce-ave-n-macon-ga-31220
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierga-macon-water-authority
Sewer operatorMacon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)GA0024538
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name2661 Pierce Avenue North Macon, Georgia 31220
Water named in the reportOcmuglee
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 11, 2026 (2026-09-11)
EndedSep 11, 2026 (2026-09-11T14:30:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the day only
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedSep 14, 2026 (2026-09-14)
Source last updatedOct 20, 2026 (2026-10-20T13:45:51Z)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons74,850
Volume as reported74,850 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityGeorgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20261020/download

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "facility_name": "Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)",
    "begin_date": "2026-09-11",
    "county": "Bibb",
    "city": "Macon",
    "overflow_location": "2661 Pierce Avenue North Macon, Georgia 31220",
    "quantity_gallons": "74850",
    "overflow_type": "Raw Sewage",
    "permit_number": "GA0024538",
    "spill_source": "Force Main",
    "cause": "Aging Infrastructure,Poor Bedding Material,",
    "river_basin": "Ocmulgee",
    "waterway_impacted": "Ocmuglee",
    "overflow_destination": "Spill Waters of the State"
  },
  "posting_date": "2026-10-20"
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.