DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)

Sewer utility · Georgia · Macon

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0024538
Wastewater outlets
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 10 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Ocmulgee River
Tracked waters
Ocmulgee River, GA, Bowman Branch, GA, Vineville Branch, GA, Walnut Creek, GA, Sabbath Creek, GA
Discharge records counted
21 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
111,234 gallons across the 13 records that give a volume (8 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 10 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

1 outfall

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

10 places · 2 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 30, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 31, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 4, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 4, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 22, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 5, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 11, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 20, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 9, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 27, 2025 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Water not mapped · 346 Ell Street Macon, Georgia 31201 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to 2:30 PM“Ocmuglee” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Sep 11“Ocmuglee” · 2661 Pierce Avenue North Macon, Georgia 31220 · SSO · 74,850 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:35 AMOcmulgee River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 31Ocmulgee River · 257 Jones Avenue Macon, Georgia 31217 · SSO · 2,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:39 PM“Ditch feeding Bowman Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
Ocmulgee River · 680 Crawford Road Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO (earlier version) · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapreported
to Jul 7“Ditch feeding Bowman Creek” · 441 East Buford Road Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 6,800 gallons report · noticeended
to 7:11 PM“Savage Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to Jun 7“Savage Creek” · 4620 South Stratford Oaks Drive Macon, Georgia 31210 · SSO · 2,540 gallons report · noticeended
to 2:00 PMBowman Branch · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 1:30 PM“Ditch feeding Bowman Creek” · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · noticeended
to May 4Bowman Branch · 3378 Ridge Avenue Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 1,680 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 4“Ditch feeding Bowman Creek” · 279 Belvedere Drive Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 2,420 gallons report · noticeended
to 3:37 PMVineville Branch · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 22Vineville Branch · 2177 Neal Avenue Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 2,440 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMWalnut Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 5Walnut Creek · 2424 Alandale Drive Macon, Georgia 31211 · SSO · 3,660 gallons report · notice · mapended
“None” · 320 Forest Hill Road Macon, Georgia 31210 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · noticereported
“none” · 239 Rogers Avenue Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 1,560 gallons report · noticereported
“none” · 2140 Ingleside Avenue Macon, Georgia 31204 · SSO · 540 gallons report · noticereported
“None” · 1011 Walker Swamp Road Macon, Georgia 31201 · SSO · 1,924 gallons report · noticereported
to 10:20 PMSabbath Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 9 ’25Sabbath Creek · 624 Forest Hill Road Macon, Georgia 31210 · SSO · 8,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:20 AMVineville Branch · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 32 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (22 from Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)) · 2025 (10 from Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Ocmulgee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Ocmulgee River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF), last 12 months14December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF), last 12 months13December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF)'s reports, last 12 months192December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Macon Water Authority (Lower Poplar WRF))2.7%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

21 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 13 reports that gave a volume as a number (8 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

8 of 21 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 15, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.

Sources: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records; ga-epd-spills. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update