Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Atlanta, City of (R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek & South River WRCS), Aug 22, 2026
Not stated by the source · Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0039012-20260822-2460-alston-dr-se-atlanta-ga-30317, published Aug 24, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 08:30 UTC, first read from an archived posting · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Duplicate. This report repeats another record. The newest version sets the map status.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Atlanta, City of (R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek & South River WRCS) (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, GA0039012). Outlet: “2460 Alston Drive Southeast Atlanta, Georgia 30317”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “DOLITTLE CREEK”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
- , first read from an archived posting
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Not stated by the source
- Material
- “untreated sewage”
- Volume
- 930 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “930 gallons”
Advice from Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD
- Source record number
- ga0039012-20260822-2460-alston-dr-se-atlanta-ga-30317
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | ga-epd-spills:ga0039012-20260822-2460-alston-dr-se-atlanta-ga-30317 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ga-epd-spills |
| Source record number | ga0039012-20260822-2460-alston-dr-se-atlanta-ga-30317 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Not stated by the source |
| Sewer operator identifier | ga-atlanta-dwm |
| Sewer operator | Atlanta, City of (R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek & South River WRCS) |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | GA0039012 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 2460 Alston Drive Southeast Atlanta, Georgia 30317 |
| Water named in the report | DOLITTLE CREEK |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 22, 2026 (2026-08-22) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Aug 24, 2026 (2026-08-24) |
| Source last updated | Aug 25, 2026 (2026-08-25T12:17:33Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 3:30 AM EST (2026-11-04T08:30:55Z), first read from an archived posting |
| Material | untreated sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 930 |
| Volume as reported | 930 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://epd.georgia.gov/document/document/sewagespillsreport20260825/download |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"facility_name": "Atlanta, City of (R.M. Clayton, Utoy Creek & South River WRCS)",
"begin_date": "2026-08-22",
"county": "DeKalb",
"city": "Atlanta",
"overflow_location": "2460 Alston Drive Southeast Atlanta, Georgia 30317",
"quantity_gallons": "930",
"overflow_type": "Raw Sewage",
"permit_number": "GA0039012",
"spill_source": "Collection System",
"cause": "Aging Infrastructure,",
"river_basin": "Chattahoochee",
"waterway_impacted": "DOLITTLE CREEK",
"overflow_destination": "Spill Waters of the State"
},
"posting_date": "2026-08-25"
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.