DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Baltimore City Department of Public Works, Sep 17, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map)

Source: Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map) via Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service), record 25833, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:30 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Baltimore City Department of Public Works. Outlet: “471 Old Town Mall”. Location: 39.29549, -76.60343; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Jones Falls”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
1,940 gallons (estimated)
Volume as reported
“1,940 gallons (EST_VOLUME)”

Advice from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service)
Source record number
25833
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-baltimore-sso:25833
Source identifiermd-baltimore-sso
Source record number25833
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-baltimore-city-dpw
Sewer operatorBaltimore City Department of Public Works
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name471 Old Town Mall
Water named in the reportJones Falls
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude39.295
Longitude-76.603
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 17, 2026, 12:20 PM EDT (2026-09-17T12:20:00-04:00)
EndedSep 17, 2026, 6:48 PM EDT (2026-09-17T18:48:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:30 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:30:54Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons1,940
Volume as reported1,940 gallons (EST_VOLUME)
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityBaltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://dpwdata.baltimorecity.gov/pubgis/rest/services/Public/SSO_Points2/MapServer/0/query?where=OBJECTID%3D25833&outFields=*&f=json

Original source data

{
  "OBJECTID": 25833,
  "SSO_DATE": 1789647600000,
  "LOCATION": "471 Old Town Mall",
  "EST_VOLUME": 1940,
  "EST_FLOW": 5,
  "STATUS": "5DAY",
  "REC_WATERS": "JF",
  "WATERSHED": 2130903,
  "START_DATETIME": 1789647600000,
  "END_DATETIME": 1789670880000,
  "RESPONSIBILITY": "DPW",
  "Latitude": 39.29548765,
  "Longitude": -76.60342655,
  "SITE_TYPE": "Standard",
  "SENSITIVE_AREA": 0,
  "WAIVER_REQUESTED": null,
  "WAIVER_GRANTED": null,
  "WAIVER_REASON": null,
  "PENALTY": null,
  "WAIVER_CLOSED": null,
  "WAIVER_DENIED": null,
  "ENTER_STORM": 0,
  "CLEANUP_REQ": 0,
  "STIPULATED_PENALTY_WAIVED": null,
  "STIPULATED_PENALTY_ASSESSED": null,
  "COMMENT_RELIEF_REQUEST_TYPE": null,
  "ANNUAL_ADJUSTMENT": null,
  "_decoded_times": {
    "SSO_DATE": "2026-09-17T12:20:00-04:00",
    "START_DATETIME": "2026-09-17T12:20:00-04:00",
    "END_DATETIME": "2026-09-17T18:48:00-04:00"
  },
  "_time_basis": "The layer stores local wall-clock time as if it were UTC: each epoch value is read as UTC and the wall-clock time labelled America/New_York.",
  "_status_name": "5 Day Report Submitted",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "no Maryland water record named 'Jones Falls' near the point"
  },
  "_watershed_name": "Baltimore Harbor",
  "_responsibility": "DPW",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:25:53Z",
  "_status_seen": [
    {
      "status": "5DAY",
      "first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:25:53Z"
    }
  ],
  "_volume_seen": [
    {
      "gallons": 1940,
      "first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:25:53Z"
    }
  ]
}

Source: Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map) via Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service), record 25833, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:30 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.