DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Mayor and Council of Myersville, May 21, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Mayor and Council of Myersville

Source: Mayor and Council of Myersville via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0020699-20260521T2100-2868-milt-summers-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Mayor and Council of Myersville (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0020699). Outlet: “2868 Milt Summers Road”. Location: 39.49390, -77.57100; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Grindstone Run”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
2.85 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“2846700 gallons”

Advice from Mayor and Council of Myersville

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
md0020699-20260521T2100-2868-milt-summers-rd
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:md0020699-20260521T2100-2868-milt-summers-rd
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermd0020699-20260521T2100-2868-milt-summers-rd
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-myersville
Sewer operatorMayor and Council of Myersville
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MD0020699
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name2868 Milt Summers Road
Water named in the reportGrindstone Run
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude39.494
Longitude-77.571
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 21, 2026, 9:00 PM EDT (2026-05-21T21:00:00-04:00)
EndedJun 2, 2026, 6:25 AM EDT (2026-06-02T06:25:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons2,846,700
Volume as reported2846700 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMayor and Council of Myersville
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "Bypass",
    "facility_collection_system": "MYERSVILLE WWTP",
    "npdes_no": "MD0020699",
    "start_date": "05/21/2026",
    "start_time": "21:00:00",
    "duration_day": "11",
    "duration_hour": "9",
    "duration_minute": "25",
    "overflow_address": "2868 Milt Summers Road",
    "zip": "21769",
    "owner_name": "Mayor and Council of Myersville",
    "discharge_volume": "2846700",
    "overflow_cause": "Rainfall event causing flows over filter design capacity.  A partial bypass of some flow is needed to inhibit continual backwashing of the filters, which does not allow any flow to leave the facility.",
    "receiving_water": "Grindstone Run",
    "county": "Frederick",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "39.4939",
    "overflow_longitude": "-77.5710",
    "id": "386"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "as given",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0020699",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Mayor and Council of Myersville via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0020699-20260521T2100-2868-milt-summers-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.