Treatment bypass reported — Baltimore City DPW, Jul 18, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Baltimore City DPW
Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021555-20260718T0545-8201-eastern-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Baltimore City DPW (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0021555). Outlet: “8201 Eastern Ave”. Location: 39.30040, -76.49230; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Discharge entered Back River (001) and Bear Creek (002).”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Back River, MD. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 118 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “118000000 gallons”
Advice from Baltimore City DPW
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0021555-20260718T0545-8201-eastern-ave
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0021555-20260718T0545-8201-eastern-ave |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0021555-20260718T0545-8201-eastern-ave |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-baltimore-city-dpw |
| Sewer operator | Baltimore City DPW |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0021555 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 8201 Eastern Ave |
| Water named in the report | Discharge entered Back River (001) and Bear Creek (002). |
| Linked waters | back-river-md |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 39.3 |
| Longitude | -76.492 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 18, 2026, 5:45 AM EDT (2026-07-18T05:45:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 18, 2026, 8:57 AM EDT (2026-07-18T08:57:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 118,000,000 |
| Volume as reported | 118000000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Baltimore City DPW |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Bypass",
"facility_collection_system": "Back River WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0021555",
"start_date": "07/18/2026",
"start_time": "05:45:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "3",
"duration_minute": "12",
"overflow_address": "8201 Eastern Ave",
"zip": "21224",
"owner_name": "Baltimore City DPW",
"discharge_volume": "118000000",
"overflow_cause": "Power outage at denitrification.",
"receiving_water": "Discharge entered Back River (001) and Bear Creek (002).",
"county": "Baltimore",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "39.3004",
"overflow_longitude": "-76.4923",
"id": "226"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "as given",
"_water": {
"name_notes": [
"'bear creek': the point is not near any of the 1 Maryland waters with this name: not used"
],
"via": "receiving water name within Maryland (checked against the point) and county Baltimore"
},
"_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0021555",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021555-20260718T0545-8201-eastern-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.