DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Mayor and City Council of Cumberland, May 21, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Mayor and City Council of Cumberland

Source: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021598-20260521T0402-mill-race-elizabeth-st-oldtown-rd-bedford-st-n-mechanic-st-franklin-st-valley-st-avirett-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0021598). Outlet: “Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Wills Creek, use IV-P & Potomac River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to North Branch Potomac River, MD. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
489,500 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“489500 gallons”

Advice from Mayor and City Council of Cumberland

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
md0021598-20260521T0402-mill-race-elizabeth-st-oldtown-rd-bedford-st-n-mechanic-st-franklin-st-valley-st-avirett-st
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:md0021598-20260521T0402-mill-race-elizabeth-st-oldtown-rd-bedford-st-n-mechanic-st-franklin-st-valley-st-avirett-st
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermd0021598-20260521T0402-mill-race-elizabeth-st-oldtown-rd-bedford-st-n-mechanic-st-franklin-st-valley-st-avirett-st
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-cumberland
Sewer operatorMayor and City Council of Cumberland
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MD0021598
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameMill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street
Water named in the reportWills Creek, use IV-P & Potomac River
Linked watersnorth-branch-potomac-river-md
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 21, 2026, 4:02 AM EDT (2026-05-21T04:02:00-04:00)
EndedMay 21, 2026, 12:56 PM EDT (2026-05-21T12:56:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons489,500
Volume as reported489500 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMayor and City Council of Cumberland
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "CSO",
    "facility_collection_system": "John J. DiFonzo (Cumberland) WRF & Collection System",
    "npdes_no": "MD0021598",
    "start_date": "05/21/2026",
    "start_time": "04:02:00",
    "duration_day": "0",
    "duration_hour": "8",
    "duration_minute": "54",
    "overflow_address": "Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street",
    "zip": "21502",
    "owner_name": "Mayor and City Council of Cumberland",
    "discharge_volume": "489500",
    "overflow_cause": "Rainfall",
    "receiving_water": "Wills Creek, use IV-P & Potomac River",
    "county": "Allegany",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "",
    "overflow_longitude": "",
    "id": "388"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "no coordinates",
  "_water": {
    "name_notes": [
      "'Potomac River' in Allegany/Garrett County read as the North Branch Potomac River (potomac-river-md begins at the confluence below Cumberland)"
    ],
    "via": "receiving water name within Maryland and county Allegany"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0021598",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021598-20260521T0402-mill-race-elizabeth-st-oldtown-rd-bedford-st-n-mechanic-st-franklin-st-valley-st-avirett-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.