Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Mayor and City Council of Cumberland, Aug 17, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Mayor and City Council of Cumberland
Source: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021598-20260817T0346-valley-st-and-franklin-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0021598). Outlet: “Valley Street & Franklin Street”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Wills Creek”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 6,300 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “6300 gallons”
Advice from Mayor and City Council of Cumberland
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0021598-20260817T0346-valley-st-and-franklin-st
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0021598-20260817T0346-valley-st-and-franklin-st |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0021598-20260817T0346-valley-st-and-franklin-st |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-cumberland |
| Sewer operator | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0021598 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Valley Street & Franklin Street |
| Water named in the report | Wills Creek |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 17, 2026, 3:46 AM EDT (2026-08-17T03:46:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Aug 17, 2026, 5:03 AM EDT (2026-08-17T05:03:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 6,300 |
| Volume as reported | 6300 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "CSO",
"facility_collection_system": "John J. DiFonzo (Cumberland) WRF & Collection System",
"npdes_no": "MD0021598",
"start_date": "08/17/2026",
"start_time": "03:46:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "1",
"duration_minute": "17",
"overflow_address": "Valley Street & Franklin Street",
"zip": "21502",
"owner_name": "Mayor and City Council of Cumberland",
"discharge_volume": "6300",
"overflow_cause": "",
"receiving_water": "Wills Creek",
"county": "Allegany",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "150"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0021598",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021598-20260817T0346-valley-st-and-franklin-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.