Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Carroll County Bureau of Utilities, Jul 4, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Carroll County Bureau of Utilities
Source: Carroll County Bureau of Utilities via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0022446-20260704T0605-1199-n-carroll-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Carroll County Bureau of Utilities (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0022446). Outlet: “1199 North Carroll Street”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Storm drain.”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from Carroll County Bureau of Utilities
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0022446-20260704T0605-1199-n-carroll-st
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0022446-20260704T0605-1199-n-carroll-st |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0022446-20260704T0605-1199-n-carroll-st |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-carroll-county |
| Sewer operator | Carroll County Bureau of Utilities |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0022446 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 1199 North Carroll Street |
| Water named in the report | Storm drain. |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 4, 2026, 6:05 AM EDT (2026-07-04T06:05:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 4, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-07-04T12:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Carroll County Bureau of Utilities |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"facility_collection_system": "HAMPSTEAD WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0022446",
"start_date": "07/04/2026",
"start_time": "06:05:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "5",
"duration_minute": "55",
"overflow_address": "1199 North Carroll Street",
"zip": "21074",
"owner_name": "Carroll County Bureau of Utilities",
"discharge_volume": "",
"overflow_cause": "Break the size of a baseball in a water supply main.",
"receiving_water": "Storm drain.",
"county": "Carroll",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "267"
},
"_source_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"why_none": "receiving water given as 'Storm drain.': no surface water named (decision 3)"
},
"_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0022446",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Carroll County Bureau of Utilities via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0022446-20260704T0605-1199-n-carroll-st, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.