Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Jun 4, 2026
Ended (as reported) · U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Source: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0025496-20260604T1500-9000-rockville-pk, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0025496). Outlet: “9000 Rockville Pike”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “DISCHARGE REMAINED IN EXCAVATION PIT”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 500 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “500 gallons”
Advice from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0025496-20260604T1500-9000-rockville-pk
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0025496-20260604T1500-9000-rockville-pk |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0025496-20260604T1500-9000-rockville-pk |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-u-s-department-of-health-and-human-services |
| Sewer operator | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0025496 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 9000 Rockville Pike |
| Water named in the report | DISCHARGE REMAINED IN EXCAVATION PIT |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jun 4, 2026, 3:00 PM EDT (2026-06-04T15:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jun 5, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-06-05T10:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 500 |
| Volume as reported | 500 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "SSO",
"facility_collection_system": "NIH Bethesda",
"npdes_no": "MD0025496",
"start_date": "06/04/2026",
"start_time": "15:00:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "19",
"duration_minute": "0",
"overflow_address": "9000 Rockville Pike",
"zip": "20892",
"owner_name": "U.S. Department of Health and Human Services",
"discharge_volume": "500",
"overflow_cause": "BREAK IN LINE",
"receiving_water": "DISCHARGE REMAINED IN EXCAVATION PIT",
"county": "Montgomery",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "329"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "built from the owner name (no research row)",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0025496-20260604T1500-9000-rockville-pk, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.