Treatment bypass reported — Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc., May 28, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0051497-20260528T0120-1156-norris-welsh-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0051497). Outlet: “1156 Norris Welsh Road”. Location: 39.38780, -79.38870; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Little Youghiogheny River”. Not linked to a mapped water. name match too far (5.3 km)
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 100,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “100000 gallons”
Advice from Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0051497-20260528T0120-1156-norris-welsh-rd
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0051497-20260528T0120-1156-norris-welsh-rd |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0051497-20260528T0120-1156-norris-welsh-rd |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-garrett-sanitary |
| Sewer operator | Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0051497 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 1156 Norris Welsh Road |
| Water named in the report | Little Youghiogheny River |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 39.388 |
| Longitude | -79.389 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 28, 2026, 1:20 AM EDT (2026-05-28T01:20:00-04:00) |
| Ended | May 29, 2026, 11:59 PM EDT (2026-05-29T23:59:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 100,000 |
| Volume as reported | 100000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Bypass",
"facility_collection_system": "TROUT RUN WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0051497",
"start_date": "05/28/2026",
"start_time": "01:20:00",
"duration_day": "1",
"duration_hour": "22",
"duration_minute": "39",
"overflow_address": "1156 Norris Welsh Road",
"zip": "21550",
"owner_name": "Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.",
"discharge_volume": "100000",
"overflow_cause": "Rain, Force Majuere",
"receiving_water": "Little Youghiogheny River",
"county": "Garrett",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "39.3878",
"overflow_longitude": "-79.3887",
"id": "344"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "as given",
"_water": {
"name_notes": [
"'youghiogheny river' preceded by 'little': a different water, not used"
],
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "owner name",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0051497-20260528T0120-1156-norris-welsh-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.