DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Charles County DPW, May 26, 2026

Not stated by the source · Charles County DPW

Source: Charles County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0053228-20260526T1200-9235-mitchell-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Charles County DPW (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0053228). Outlet: “9235 Mitchell Rd”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Not stated by the source
Material
not stated
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from Charles County DPW

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
md0053228-20260526T1200-9235-mitchell-rd
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:md0053228-20260526T1200-9235-mitchell-rd
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermd0053228-20260526T1200-9235-mitchell-rd
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportNot stated by the source
Sewer operator identifiermd-charles-county-dpw
Sewer operatorCharles County DPW
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MD0053228
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name9235 Mitchell Rd
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 26, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-05-26T12:00:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityCharles County DPW
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "Bypass",
    "facility_collection_system": "MT CARMEL WWTP",
    "npdes_no": "MD0053228",
    "start_date": "05/26/2026",
    "start_time": "12:00:00",
    "duration_day": "",
    "duration_hour": "",
    "duration_minute": "",
    "overflow_address": "9235 Mitchell Rd",
    "zip": "20646",
    "owner_name": "Charles County DPW",
    "discharge_volume": "",
    "overflow_cause": "extensive maintenance on the filter",
    "receiving_water": "",
    "county": "Charles",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "",
    "overflow_longitude": "",
    "id": "357"
  },
  "_coords": "no coordinates",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "receiving water given as '': no surface water named (decision 3)"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "owner name",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Charles County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0053228-20260526T1200-9235-mitchell-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.