DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc., May 28, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.

Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0054348-20260528T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0054348). Outlet: “762 Mayhew Inn Road”. Location: 39.50310, -79.39140; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Bypass was limited to the ground around the WWTP Septic Receiving Station(Former Oxidation Ditch) and did not enter ditches, stormwater structures, or waters of the State.”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
1,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“1000 gallons”

Advice from Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
md0054348-20260528T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:md0054348-20260528T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermd0054348-20260528T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-garrett-sanitary
Sewer operatorGarrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MD0054348
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name762 Mayhew Inn Road
Water named in the reportBypass was limited to the ground around the WWTP Septic Receiving Station(Former Oxidation Ditch) and did not enter ditches, stormwater structures, or waters of the State.
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude39.503
Longitude-79.391
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 28, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT (2026-05-28T08:00:00-04:00)
EndedMay 28, 2026, 9:00 AM EDT (2026-05-28T09:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons1,000
Volume as reported1000 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityGarrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "Bypass",
    "facility_collection_system": "Deep Creek Lake WWTP",
    "npdes_no": "MD0054348",
    "start_date": "05/28/2026",
    "start_time": "08:00:00",
    "duration_day": "0",
    "duration_hour": "1",
    "duration_minute": "0",
    "overflow_address": "762 Mayhew Inn Road",
    "zip": "21550",
    "owner_name": "Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.",
    "discharge_volume": "1000",
    "overflow_cause": "Bypass, also an in plant overflow, was not intentional and remains unexplained at this time.  However, the WWTP received significate rain during the time of the bypass. The bypass was limited to a white foam.",
    "receiving_water": "Bypass was limited to the ground around the WWTP Septic Receiving Station(Former Oxidation Ditch) and did not enter ditches, stormwater structures, or waters of the State.",
    "county": "Garrett",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "39.5031",
    "overflow_longitude": "-79.3914",
    "id": "343"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "as given",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "the text says the overflow did not reach a water"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "owner name",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0054348-20260528T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.