Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc., Jul 15, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0054348-20260715T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0054348). Outlet: “762 Mayhew Inn Road”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Discharge was limited to the ground and side ditch of the WWTP. None of the wastewater entered "waters of the State".”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 300 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “300 gallons”
Advice from Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0054348-20260715T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0054348-20260715T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0054348-20260715T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-garrett-sanitary |
| Sewer operator | Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0054348 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 762 Mayhew Inn Road |
| Water named in the report | Discharge was limited to the ground and side ditch of the WWTP. None of the wastewater entered "waters of the State". |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 15, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT (2026-07-15T08:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 15, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT (2026-07-15T10:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 300 |
| Volume as reported | 300 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"facility_collection_system": "Deep Creek Lake WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0054348",
"start_date": "07/15/2026",
"start_time": "08:00:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "2",
"duration_minute": "30",
"overflow_address": "762 Mayhew Inn Road",
"zip": "21550",
"owner_name": "Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc.",
"discharge_volume": "300",
"overflow_cause": "During a pumping operation to repair a Clarifier's Return Activated Sludge plug pump, an isolation valve failed, requiring the operators to alternately pump the Clarifiers waters to a nearby Oxidation Ditch. During the pumping operation, a camlock fitting failed allowing wastewaters to discharge to the grounds of the WWTP. None of the waster left the plant .",
"receiving_water": "Discharge was limited to the ground and side ditch of the WWTP. None of the wastewater entered \"waters of the State\".",
"county": "Garrett",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "230"
},
"_source_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "owner name",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0054348-20260715T0800-762-mayhew-inn-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.