Treatment bypass reported — Maryland Environmental Service, Jul 10, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Maryland Environmental Service
Source: Maryland Environmental Service via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0063207-20260710T2000-7938-rockbridge-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Maryland Environmental Service (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0063207). Outlet: “7938 Rockbridge Rd”. Location: 39.13410, -76.77680; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Dorsey Run”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 320,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “320000 gallons”
Advice from Maryland Environmental Service
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0063207-20260710T2000-7938-rockbridge-rd
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0063207-20260710T2000-7938-rockbridge-rd |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0063207-20260710T2000-7938-rockbridge-rd |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-mes |
| Sewer operator | Maryland Environmental Service |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0063207 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 7938 Rockbridge Rd |
| Water named in the report | Dorsey Run |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 39.134 |
| Longitude | -76.777 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 10, 2026, 8:00 PM EDT (2026-07-10T20:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 11, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT (2026-07-11T11:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 320,000 |
| Volume as reported | 320000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Maryland Environmental Service |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Bypass",
"facility_collection_system": "DORSEY RUN ADVANCED WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0063207",
"start_date": "07/10/2026",
"start_time": "20:00:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "15",
"duration_minute": "30",
"overflow_address": "7938 Rockbridge Rd",
"zip": "20794",
"owner_name": "Maryland Environmental Service",
"discharge_volume": "320000",
"overflow_cause": "Due to heavy rainfall, partially treated wastewater bypassed the sand filters before being discharged. The discharge was still disinfected.",
"receiving_water": "Dorsey Run",
"county": "Anne Arundel",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "39.1341",
"overflow_longitude": "-76.7768",
"id": "236"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "as given",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "owner name",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Maryland Environmental Service via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0063207-20260710T2000-7938-rockbridge-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.