Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Calvert County DPW, Jul 14, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Calvert County DPW
Source: Calvert County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md2178e89-20260714T0000-500-sweetwater-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Calvert County DPW. Outlet: “500 Sweetwater Rd.”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “n/a (the SSO was contained within the facility ground)”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 2,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “2000 gallons”
Advice from Calvert County DPW
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md2178e89-20260714T0000-500-sweetwater-rd
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md2178e89-20260714T0000-500-sweetwater-rd |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md2178e89-20260714T0000-500-sweetwater-rd |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-calvert-county |
| Sewer operator | Calvert County DPW |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 500 Sweetwater Rd. |
| Water named in the report | n/a (the SSO was contained within the facility ground) |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 14, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT (2026-07-14T00:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 14, 2026, 6:00 AM EDT (2026-07-14T06:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 2,000 |
| Volume as reported | 2000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Calvert County DPW |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"facility_collection_system": "Solomons Island WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD2178E89",
"start_date": "07/14/2026",
"start_time": "00:00:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "6",
"duration_minute": "0",
"overflow_address": "500 Sweetwater Rd.",
"zip": "20657",
"owner_name": "Calvert County DPW",
"discharge_volume": "2000",
"overflow_cause": "operator error",
"receiving_water": "n/a (the SSO was contained within the facility ground)",
"county": "Calvert",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "232"
},
"_source_type": "Unauthorized Discharge",
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "owner name",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Calvert County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md2178e89-20260714T0000-500-sweetwater-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.