DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Town of Centreville, Jun 30, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Town of Centreville

Source: Town of Centreville via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc020834-20260630T0730-500-church-hill-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Town of Centreville. Outlet: “500 Church Hill Rd”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “stream/ditch”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
3,600 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“3600 gallons”

Advice from Town of Centreville

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
mdc020834-20260630T0730-500-church-hill-rd
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:mdc020834-20260630T0730-500-church-hill-rd
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermdc020834-20260630T0730-500-church-hill-rd
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-town-of-centreville
Sewer operatorTown of Centreville
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name500 Church Hill Rd
Water named in the reportstream/ditch
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 30, 2026, 7:30 AM EDT (2026-06-30T07:30:00-04:00)
EndedJun 30, 2026, 9:30 AM EDT (2026-06-30T09:30:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons3,600
Volume as reported3600 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityTown of Centreville
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "SSO",
    "facility_collection_system": "Centreville WWTP Collection System",
    "npdes_no": "MDC020834",
    "start_date": "06/30/2026",
    "start_time": "07:30:00",
    "duration_day": "0",
    "duration_hour": "2",
    "duration_minute": "0",
    "overflow_address": "500 Church Hill Rd",
    "zip": "21617",
    "owner_name": "Town of Centreville",
    "discharge_volume": "3600",
    "overflow_cause": "roots grown into sewer line",
    "receiving_water": "stream/ditch",
    "county": "Queen Anne's",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "",
    "overflow_longitude": "",
    "id": "269"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "no coordinates",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "built from the owner name (no research row)",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Town of Centreville via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc020834-20260630T0730-500-church-hill-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.