DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Baltimore City DPW, May 24, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Baltimore City DPW

Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc021601-20260524T0500-3900-belair-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Baltimore City DPW. Outlet: “3900 Belair Rd”. Location: 39.32570, -76.56830; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Herring Run, Use IV waterway.”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
439,998 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“439998 gallons”

Advice from Baltimore City DPW

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
mdc021601-20260524T0500-3900-belair-rd
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:mdc021601-20260524T0500-3900-belair-rd
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermdc021601-20260524T0500-3900-belair-rd
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-baltimore-city-dpw
Sewer operatorBaltimore City DPW
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name3900 Belair Rd
Water named in the reportHerring Run, Use IV waterway.
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude39.326
Longitude-76.568
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMay 24, 2026, 5:00 AM EDT (2026-05-24T05:00:00-04:00)
EndedMay 24, 2026, 8:15 AM EDT (2026-05-24T08:15:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons439,998
Volume as reported439998 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityBaltimore City DPW
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "SSO",
    "facility_collection_system": "Patapsco WWTP Collection System - Baltimore City",
    "npdes_no": "MDC021601",
    "start_date": "05/24/2026",
    "start_time": "05:00:00",
    "duration_day": "0",
    "duration_hour": "3",
    "duration_minute": "15",
    "overflow_address": "3900 Belair Rd",
    "zip": "21206",
    "owner_name": "Baltimore City DPW",
    "discharge_volume": "439998",
    "overflow_cause": "Rain.",
    "receiving_water": "Herring Run, Use IV waterway.",
    "county": "Baltimore City",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "39.3257",
    "overflow_longitude": "-76.5683",
    "id": "367"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "as given",
  "_water": {
    "why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MDC021601",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc021601-20260524T0500-3900-belair-rd, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.