Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Anne Arundel County DPW, May 31, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Anne Arundel County DPW
Source: Anne Arundel County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc021644-20260531T1630-821-richie-hwy, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Anne Arundel County DPW. Outlet: “821 Richie Highway”. Location: 39.06710, -76.53580; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Cypress Creek”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Magothy River, MD. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 15,200 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “15200 gallons”
Advice from Anne Arundel County DPW
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- mdc021644-20260531T1630-821-richie-hwy
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:mdc021644-20260531T1630-821-richie-hwy |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | mdc021644-20260531T1630-821-richie-hwy |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-anne-arundel-dpw |
| Sewer operator | Anne Arundel County DPW |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 821 Richie Highway |
| Water named in the report | Cypress Creek |
| Linked waters | magothy-river-md |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 39.067 |
| Longitude | -76.536 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 31, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT (2026-05-31T16:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | May 31, 2026, 7:30 PM EDT (2026-05-31T19:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 15,200 |
| Volume as reported | 15200 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Anne Arundel County DPW |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "SSO",
"facility_collection_system": "Broadneck WRF Collection System",
"npdes_no": "MDC021644",
"start_date": "05/31/2026",
"start_time": "16:30:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "3",
"duration_minute": "0",
"overflow_address": "821 Richie Highway",
"zip": "21146",
"owner_name": "Anne Arundel County DPW",
"discharge_volume": "15200",
"overflow_cause": "Broken force main pipe.",
"receiving_water": "Cypress Creek",
"county": "Anne Arundel",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "39.0671",
"overflow_longitude": "-76.5358",
"id": "339"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "as given",
"_water": {
"why_none": "no Maryland water record matched the name"
},
"_discharger_basis": "owner name",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Anne Arundel County DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record mdc021644-20260531T1630-821-richie-hwy, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.