Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — South Haven Area Water-Sewer Authority, Oct 27, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record -5998036157539227637-3, reported Oct 29, 2026, 8:19 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Caution on Black River: Discharge record with unclear status. Current rule period ends Nov 12, 2026, 7:19 AM EST. This is not a water-quality test.
Why this status: Caution: discharge record with unclear status.
Why we use this rule: A discharge record with unclear status shows caution for 14 days after its report time. It then follows the rule for unconfirmed records.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: South Haven Area Water-Sewer Authority (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, 3112a-0318). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Black River, MI. Match basis: the operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Raw Sewage”
- Volume
- 1,100 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “1100 Gallons”
Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Caution Black River: Discharge record with unclear status, Oct 29, 2026, 8:19 AM EDT to Nov 12, 2026, 7:19 AM EST (the end is scheduled: a new report can change it)
- End not confirmed Black River, Nov 12, 2026, 7:19 AM EST to Nov 26, 2026, 9:45 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
- No current status shown Black River: end not confirmed, no map colour, Nov 26, 2026, 9:45 AM EST to Jan 27, 2027, 7:19 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
- Source record number
- -5998036157539227637-3
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:-5998036157539227637-3 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list |
| Source record number | -5998036157539227637-3 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | mi-south-haven-area-water-sewer-authority |
| Sewer operator | South Haven Area Water-Sewer Authority |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | 3112a-0318 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | black-river-south-haven-mi |
| How this report was linked to the water | the operator's listed receiving water; the report itself does not name the water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Oct 27, 2026, 10:45 AM EDT (2026-10-27T10:45:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Oct 29, 2026, 8:19 AM EDT (2026-10-29T08:19:41-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 5, 2026, 1:11 AM EST (2026-11-05T06:11:42Z) |
| Material | Raw Sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 1,100 |
| Volume as reported | 1100 Gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%22-5998036157539227637%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D |
Original source data
{
"submissionId": "-5998036157539227637",
"submissionReferenceNumber": "HQS-NP5E-9MNFG",
"sectionNumber": 3,
"submissionReceivedDate": "2026-10-29T08:19:41.8430000-04:00",
"responsiblePartyName": "South Haven Area Water-Sewer Authority",
"siteName": "South Haven CM",
"permitNumber": "3112a-0318",
"countyDescription": "Van Buren",
"countyId": "80",
"reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
"reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
"dischargeType": "SSO Discharge,SSO Discharge",
"dischargeQuality": "Raw Sewage,Raw Sewage",
"dischargeVolume": "1100.00000 Gallons",
"dischargeVolumeNumeric": 1100,
"eventStartDate": "2026-10-27T10:45:00.0000000-04:00",
"eventEndDate": "2026-10-27T10:45:00.0000000-04:00",
"featureNumber": null,
"featureDescription": null,
"receivingWater": null,
"landImpacted": null,
"precipitationAmount": null,
"precipitationType": "None,None",
"reached_water": null
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.