Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Dow Chemical, Sep 3, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record -6153008500806674668-2, reported Sep 4, 2026, 10:49 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Dow Chemical (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0000868). Outlet: “Grass, gravel and asphalt”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “MIOPS property surface water swale”. No receiving water: the report names no water, only 'MIOPS property surface water swale'. The report is kept here but is not placed on a water and colours none on the map.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Blended Sewage”
- Volume
- 700,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “700000 Gallons”
Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
- Source record number
- -6153008500806674668-2
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:-6153008500806674668-2 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list |
| Source record number | -6153008500806674668-2 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | mi-dow-chemical-company |
| Sewer operator | Dow Chemical |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MI0000868 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Grass, gravel and asphalt |
| Water named in the report | MIOPS property surface water swale |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 3, 2026, 3:15 PM EDT (2026-09-03T15:15:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 3, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (2026-09-03T16:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Sep 4, 2026, 10:49 AM EDT (2026-09-04T10:49:31-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 8:07 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:07:31Z) |
| Material | Blended Sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 700,000 |
| Volume as reported | 700000 Gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%22-6153008500806674668%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D |
Original source data
{
"submissionId": "-6153008500806674668",
"submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-AHV1-RX9YG",
"sectionNumber": 2,
"submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-04T10:49:31.1100000-04:00",
"responsiblePartyName": "Dow Chemical",
"siteName": "Dow Chemical-Midland",
"permitNumber": "MI0000868",
"countyDescription": "Midland",
"countyId": "56",
"reportStatusId": "IN_PROCESS",
"reportStatusDescription": "In Process",
"dischargeType": "SSO Discharge,SSO Discharge",
"dischargeQuality": "Blended Sewage,Blended Sewage",
"dischargeVolume": "700000.00000 Gallons",
"dischargeVolumeNumeric": 700000,
"eventStartDate": "2026-09-03T15:15:00.0000000-04:00",
"eventEndDate": "2026-09-03T16:00:00.0000000-04:00",
"featureNumber": null,
"featureDescription": "Grass, gravel and asphalt",
"receivingWater": "MIOPS property surface water swale",
"landImpacted": "Small portion of Michigan Operations property near 23 gate on the southeast side of the site",
"precipitationAmount": "1.5",
"precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
"reached_water": true
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.