DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Southeast Macomb Sanitary District, Sep 3, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record 1435913388580926852-3, reported Sep 4, 2026, 8:35 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 15:09 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Southeast Macomb Sanitary District. Outlet: “10 Mile Drain at Benjamin - Manhole on 10 Mile drain at Benjamin and Jefferson”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Saint Clair Lake”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Saint Clair Lake, MI. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Diluted Raw Sewage”
Volume
120,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“120000 Gallons”

Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
Source record number
1435913388580926852-3
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:1435913388580926852-3
Source identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list
Source record number1435913388580926852-3
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorSoutheast Macomb Sanitary District
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name10 Mile Drain at Benjamin - Manhole on 10 Mile drain at Benjamin and Jefferson
Water named in the reportSaint Clair Lake
Linked waterssaint-clair-lake-mi
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 3, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-09-03T10:00:00-04:00)
EndedSep 3, 2026, 3:00 PM EDT (2026-09-03T15:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 4, 2026, 8:35 AM EDT (2026-09-04T08:35:46-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 10:09 AM EST (2026-11-04T15:09:15Z)
MaterialDiluted Raw Sewage
Volume, in gallons120,000
Volume as reported120000 Gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMichigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%221435913388580926852%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D

Original source data

{
  "submissionId": "1435913388580926852",
  "submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-AFNM-0WYA9",
  "sectionNumber": 3,
  "submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-04T08:35:46.1470000-04:00",
  "responsiblePartyName": "Southeast Macomb Sanitary District",
  "siteName": "Southeast Macomb Sanitary District CM",
  "permitNumber": null,
  "countyDescription": "Macomb",
  "countyId": "50",
  "reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
  "reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
  "dischargeType": "Other Discharge,Pumped Diluted sewage int the 10 Mile Drain at Benjamin St and Jefferson St.,Other Discharge",
  "dischargeQuality": "Diluted Raw Sewage,Diluted Raw Sewage",
  "dischargeVolume": "120000.00000 Gallons",
  "dischargeVolumeNumeric": 120000,
  "eventStartDate": "2026-09-03T10:00:00.0000000-04:00",
  "eventEndDate": "2026-09-03T15:00:00.0000000-04:00",
  "featureNumber": "10 Mile Drain at Benjamin",
  "featureDescription": "Manhole on 10 Mile drain at Benjamin and Jefferson",
  "receivingWater": "Saint Clair Lake",
  "landImpacted": null,
  "precipitationAmount": "2.69",
  "precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
  "reached_water": true
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.