DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Reports /

Treatment plant bypass reported — Sault Ste. Marie MI WWTP, Oct 15, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record 5542431247287477878-3, reported Oct 16, 2026, 7:09 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

End not confirmed on Saint Marys River. Current rule period ends Nov 14, 2026, 9:44 PM EST. This is not a water-quality test.

Why this status: End not confirmed: DirtyWaterWatch rule for missing end times.

Why we use this rule: From day 7 to day 30, the map marks the end as unconfirmed. After day 30, the record remains flagged on its report and water pages.

This rule on the methods page, with its source

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Sault Ste. Marie MI WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0024058). Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “St Mary's River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Saint Marys River, MI. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated”
Volume
217,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“217000 Gallons”

Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
Source record number
5542431247287477878-3
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:5542431247287477878-3
Source identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list
Source record number5542431247287477878-3
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment plant bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermi-sault-ste-marie-wwtp-mi0024058
Sewer operatorSault Ste. Marie MI WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MI0024058
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportSt Mary's River
Linked waterssaint-marys-river-sault-ste-marie-mi
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedOct 15, 2026, 10:44 PM EDT (2026-10-15T22:44:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceOct 16, 2026, 7:09 AM EDT (2026-10-16T07:09:46-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 8:07 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:07:31Z)
MaterialPartially Treated
Volume, in gallons217,000
Volume as reported217000 Gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMichigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%225542431247287477878%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D

Original source data

{
  "submissionId": "5542431247287477878",
  "submissionReferenceNumber": "HQS-BEKG-1T4KK",
  "sectionNumber": 3,
  "submissionReceivedDate": "2026-10-16T07:09:46.6100000-04:00",
  "responsiblePartyName": "Sault Ste. Marie MI WWTP",
  "siteName": "Sault Ste Marie WWTP",
  "permitNumber": "MI0024058",
  "countyDescription": "Chippewa",
  "countyId": "17",
  "reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
  "reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
  "dischargeType": "Other Discharge,Secondary Bypass at WWTP,Other Discharge",
  "dischargeQuality": "Partially Treated,Partially Treated",
  "dischargeVolume": "217000.00000 Gallons",
  "dischargeVolumeNumeric": 217000,
  "eventStartDate": "2026-10-15T22:44:00.0000000-04:00",
  "eventEndDate": "2026-10-15T22:44:00.0000000-04:00",
  "featureNumber": null,
  "featureDescription": null,
  "receivingWater": "St Mary's River",
  "landImpacted": null,
  "precipitationAmount": "0.48",
  "precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
  "reached_water": true
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.