DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — Macomb County Public Works Office, Sep 3, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record 8571598647773467998-3, reported Sep 3, 2026, 4:23 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 15:09 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 5, 2026, 1:27 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Macomb County Public Works Office (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0025585). Outlet: 001 “001”. Location: 42.46383, -82.87765; location source: EPA wastewater outlet records (the report gives no location).

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Source: EPA ECHO wastewater outlet records, permit MI0025585, outlet 001. Location linked by DirtyWaterWatch.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Lake St. Clair”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Lake Saint Clair, MI. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“(retention treatment basin discharge: combined sewage given partial treatment)”
Volume
35.6 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“35.6 Million Gallons”

Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
Source record number
8571598647773467998-3
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:8571598647773467998-3
Source identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list
Source record number8571598647773467998-3
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermi-chapaton-rtb-mi0025585
Sewer operatorMacomb County Public Works Office
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MI0025585
Outlet number001
Outlet name001
Water named in the reportLake St. Clair
Linked waterslake-saint-clair-mi
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 3, 2026, 4:05 AM EDT (2026-09-03T04:05:00-04:00)
EndedSep 4, 2026, 12:10 AM EDT (2026-09-04T00:10:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 3, 2026, 4:23 AM EDT (2026-09-03T04:23:01-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 10:09 AM EST (2026-11-04T15:09:15Z)
Material(retention treatment basin discharge: combined sewage given partial treatment)
Volume, in gallons35,600,000
Volume as reported35.6 Million Gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMichigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%228571598647773467998%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D

Original source data

{
  "submissionId": "8571598647773467998",
  "submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-9JDX-RD5SA",
  "sectionNumber": 3,
  "submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-03T04:23:01.2470000-04:00",
  "responsiblePartyName": "Macomb County Public Works Office",
  "siteName": "Chapaton RTB",
  "permitNumber": "MI0025585",
  "countyDescription": "Macomb",
  "countyId": "50",
  "reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
  "reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
  "dischargeType": "RTB Discharge,RTB Discharge",
  "dischargeQuality": "RTB,RTB",
  "dischargeVolume": "35.60000 Million Gallons",
  "dischargeVolumeNumeric": 35600000,
  "eventStartDate": "2026-09-03T04:05:00.0000000-04:00",
  "eventEndDate": "2026-09-04T00:10:00.0000000-04:00",
  "featureNumber": "001",
  "featureDescription": "001",
  "receivingWater": "Lake St. Clair",
  "landImpacted": null,
  "precipitationAmount": "2.93",
  "precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
  "reached_water": true
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.