DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New Jersey / Reports /

Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) reported, Aug 25, 2026

Advisory active · NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)

Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 01badc00-322a-4042-ada9-85023b966669, updated by the source Aug 29, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

No current status shown on Lake Hopatcong: Advisory not re-confirmed by its source recently. Current rule period ends Nov 23, 2026, 9:09 AM EST. This is not a water-quality test.

Why this status: No current status: no report we track sets a status on this water outline now.

How long each status lasts, and why

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 40.92291, -74.65232; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Lake Hopatcong”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Lake Hopatcong, NJ. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
Status in the record
Advisory active
Material
not stated
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)

“NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch.”

NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) · NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control
Source record number
01badc00-322a-4042-ada9-85023b966669
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiernj-hab:01badc00-322a-4042-ada9-85023b966669
Source identifiernj-hab
Source record number01badc00-322a-4042-ada9-85023b966669
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae)
Status in the reportAdvisory active
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportLake Hopatcong
Linked waterslake-hopatcong-nj
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude40.923
Longitude-74.652
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 25, 2026, 10:09 AM EDT (2026-08-25T10:09:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedAug 29, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT (2026-08-29T08:00:00-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 4:19 PM EST (2026-11-02T21:19:42Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityNJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
AdviceNJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch.
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Original noticehttps://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=49190166531d4e5a811c9a91e4a41677

Original source data

{
  "waterbody": "Lake Hopatcong",
  "site_id": "NJLM-0018-8",
  "municipality": "Hopatcong Borough",
  "county": "Sussex",
  "bathing_beach": "NA",
  "visits": [
    {
      "objectid": 2779,
      "sitevisitdate": "2026-08-25T10:09:00-04:00",
      "siteid": "NJLM-0018-8",
      "advisorytier": "Watch",
      "advistorytrigdt": "2026-08-29T08:00:00-04:00",
      "algaeobserved": "No",
      "cellct": 26250,
      "microcystins": null,
      "cylindrospermopsin": null,
      "anatoxin": null,
      "saxitoxin": null,
      "predomtaxa": "Phormidium",
      "toxinpresent": null,
      "comments": null,
      "EditDate": "2026-08-27T11:39:33-04:00"
    }
  ],
  "credit": "NJDEP HAB Dashboard (provided for information purposes only; not monitored 24/7)",
  "current_tier": "Watch",
  "highest_tier": "Watch",
  "last_confirmed_basis": "advistorytrigdt (the date the tier was set)"
}

Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 01badc00-322a-4042-ada9-85023b966669, updated by the source Aug 29, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.