New Jersey / Reports /
Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) reported, Jul 1, 2026
Advisory active · NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record b52c1afa-3220-4bc0-8542-bf1a8087f837, updated by the source Jul 4, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 40.21544, -74.51738; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Assunpink Lake”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Assunpink Lake, NJ. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
- Status in the record
- Advisory active
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
“NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch.”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Status history from this report
- No current status shown Assunpink Lake: Advisory not re-confirmed by its source recently, Jul 18, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT to Sep 29, 2026, 10:15 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control
- Source record number
- b52c1afa-3220-4bc0-8542-bf1a8087f837
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | nj-hab:b52c1afa-3220-4bc0-8542-bf1a8087f837 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | nj-hab |
| Source record number | b52c1afa-3220-4bc0-8542-bf1a8087f837 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) |
| Status in the report | Advisory active |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Assunpink Lake |
| Linked waters | assunpink-lake-nj |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 40.215 |
| Longitude | -74.517 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 1, 2026, 10:15 AM EDT (2026-07-01T10:15:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Jul 4, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT (2026-07-04T12:00:00-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 4:19 PM EST (2026-11-02T21:19:42Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) |
| Advice | NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch. |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window |
| Original notice | https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=49190166531d4e5a811c9a91e4a41677 |
Original source data
{
"waterbody": "Assunpink Lake",
"site_id": "Boat launch",
"municipality": "Upper Freehold Township",
"county": "Monmouth",
"bathing_beach": "NA",
"visits": [
{
"objectid": 2492,
"sitevisitdate": "2026-07-01T10:15:00-04:00",
"siteid": "Boat launch",
"advisorytier": "Watch",
"advistorytrigdt": "2026-07-04T12:00:00-04:00",
"algaeobserved": "Yes",
"cellct": 32625,
"microcystins": 0.61,
"cylindrospermopsin": null,
"anatoxin": null,
"saxitoxin": null,
"predomtaxa": "Aphanizomenon",
"toxinpresent": null,
"comments": null,
"EditDate": "2026-08-27T08:43:51-04:00"
}
],
"credit": "NJDEP HAB Dashboard (provided for information purposes only; not monitored 24/7)",
"current_tier": "Watch",
"highest_tier": "Watch",
"last_confirmed_basis": "advistorytrigdt (the date the tier was set)"
} Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record b52c1afa-3220-4bc0-8542-bf1a8087f837, updated by the source Jul 4, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.