DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New Jersey / Reports /

Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) reported, Aug 12, 2026

Advisory lifted · NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)

Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record ee0c71a9-1984-4c32-ac75-8272b32774db, updated by the source Aug 12, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.05270, -74.82677; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Paulins Kill Lake”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Paulins Kill Lake, NJ. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
Status in the record
Advisory lifted
Material
not stated
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)

“NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Advisory.”

NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) · NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
NJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control
Source record number
ee0c71a9-1984-4c32-ac75-8272b32774db
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiernj-hab:ee0c71a9-1984-4c32-ac75-8272b32774db
Source identifiernj-hab
Source record numberee0c71a9-1984-4c32-ac75-8272b32774db
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae)
Status in the reportAdvisory lifted
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)Not provided
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportPaulins Kill Lake
Linked waterspaulins-kill-lake-nj
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude41.053
Longitude-74.827
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 12, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT (2026-08-12T11:30:00-04:00)
EndedSep 9, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT (2026-09-09T08:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedAug 12, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT (2026-08-12T11:30:00-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 4:19 PM EST (2026-11-02T21:19:42Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityNJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control)
AdviceNJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Advisory.
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNJDEP HAB Dashboard: the current alert at a site is its latest sample's tier (HAB Watch, Advisory, Warning, Danger); no fixed window
Original noticehttps://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=49190166531d4e5a811c9a91e4a41677

Original source data

{
  "waterbody": "Paulins Kill Lake",
  "site_id": "Beach",
  "municipality": "Stillwater Township",
  "county": "Sussex",
  "bathing_beach": "Yes",
  "visits": [
    {
      "objectid": 2787,
      "sitevisitdate": "2026-08-12T11:30:00-04:00",
      "siteid": "Beach",
      "advisorytier": "Advisory",
      "advistorytrigdt": "2026-08-29T08:00:00-04:00",
      "algaeobserved": "Yes",
      "cellct": 97625,
      "microcystins": 1.25,
      "cylindrospermopsin": null,
      "anatoxin": null,
      "saxitoxin": null,
      "predomtaxa": "Microcystis",
      "toxinpresent": null,
      "comments": null,
      "EditDate": "2026-08-27T10:43:40-04:00"
    },
    {
      "objectid": 2875,
      "sitevisitdate": "2026-09-03T10:42:00-04:00",
      "siteid": "Beach",
      "advisorytier": "HAB Not Present",
      "advistorytrigdt": "2026-09-09T08:00:00-04:00",
      "algaeobserved": "No",
      "cellct": 0,
      "microcystins": null,
      "cylindrospermopsin": null,
      "anatoxin": null,
      "saxitoxin": null,
      "predomtaxa": null,
      "toxinpresent": null,
      "comments": null,
      "EditDate": "2026-09-08T14:58:39-04:00"
    }
  ],
  "credit": "NJDEP HAB Dashboard (provided for information purposes only; not monitored 24/7)",
  "current_tier": "Advisory",
  "highest_tier": "Advisory",
  "last_confirmed_basis": "sample time",
  "ended_at_basis": "'HAB Not Present' sample at this site: advistorytrigdt (the date the tier was set)"
}

Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record ee0c71a9-1984-4c32-ac75-8272b32774db, updated by the source Aug 12, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.