DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New York / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP, Mar 8, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2398173909756849, reported Mar 8, 2026, 4:24 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Mohawk River near Little Falls NY gauge, 7.4 kilometres from the nearest boat launch on Mohawk River: flow 736 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Mohawk River

Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 01347000, reading Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0032433). Outlet: “waste water plant”. Location: 42.95140, -74.36020; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “mohawk river”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Mohawk River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated without Disinfection”
Volume
“475 Gallons per Minute Estimated” (estimated)
Volume as reported
“475 Gallons per Minute Estimated”

Advice from Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

“chiefoperator@fonda-fultonvillewastewater.gov”

Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2398173909756849
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
version 2

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2398173909756849
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2398173909756849
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-fonda-fultonville-joint-wwtp
Sewer operatorFonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0032433
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet namewaste water plant
Water named in the reportmohawk river
Linked watersmohawk-river-ny
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude42.951
Longitude-74.36
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedMar 8, 2026, 2:05 PM EDT (2026-03-08T14:05:06-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceMar 8, 2026, 4:24 PM EDT (2026-03-08T16:24:09-04:00)
PublishedMar 8, 2026, 4:24 PM EDT (2026-03-08T16:24:09-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated without Disinfection
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reported475 Gallons per Minute Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityFonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Advicechiefoperator@fonda-fultonvillewastewater.gov
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2398173909756849",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "03/08/2026 20:24:09",
    "notificationStatus": "New",
    "facilityName": "Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP NY0032433",
    "facilityId": "NY0032433",
    "countyName": "Montgomery",
    "streetNumber": "29 south bridge street",
    "streetName": "29 south bridge street fonda ny 12068",
    "city": "fonda ny 12068",
    "addressDescription": "waste water plant",
    "latitude": "-74.3602",
    "longitude": "42.9514",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "03/08/2026 18:05:06",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "03/09/2026 11:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "16 Hours - Ongoing",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "mohawk river",
    "quantity": "475 Gallons per Minute Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
    "dischargeDescription": "cloudy with pin floc",
    "stepsToContain": "shut off aeration to contain solids",
    "additionalInstructions": "[email removed]",
    "geoaddress": "29 Bridge St S, Fonda, NY 12068, USA",
    "impactedArea": "Unknown -",
    "dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - previous rain and mild temps",
    "systemComponent": "-",
    "region": "4",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "previous rain and mild temps",
    "sprtkWebsiteUrl": "[email removed]"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 866,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_projected_end": "2026-03-09T07:00:00-04:00",
  "_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_water": {
    "via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
  },
  "_volume_note": "a rate, not a volume; first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0032433|29 south bridge street 29 south bridge street fonda ny 12068 fonda ny 12068|2026-03-08T18:05Z",
    "basis": "facility + address + start",
    "position": 1,
    "of": 3,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2398173909756849",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2398826744790327"
  }
}

Source: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2398173909756849, reported Mar 8, 2026, 4:24 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.