Treatment bypass reported — Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP, Mar 8, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2398861104519094, reported Mar 9, 2026, 6:45 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Latest conditions, not at the time of this report:At the Mohawk River near Little Falls NY gauge, 7.4 kilometres from the nearest boat launch on Mohawk River: flow 736 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST). Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.Conditions on Mohawk River
Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 01347000, reading Nov 2, 2026, 3:30 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0032433). Outlet: “waste water plant”. Location: 42.95140, -74.36020; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “mohawk river”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Mohawk River, NY. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated without Disinfection”
- Volume
- “475 Gallons per Minute Estimated” (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “475 Gallons per Minute Estimated”
Advice from Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
“chiefoperator@fonda-fultonvillewastewater.gov”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2398861104519094
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- Read the earlier version
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2398861104519094 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2398861104519094 |
| Earlier version | ny-dec-sprtk:2398173909756849 |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-fonda-fultonville-joint-wwtp |
| Sewer operator | Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0032433 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | waste water plant |
| Water named in the report | mohawk river |
| Linked waters | mohawk-river-ny |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 42.951 |
| Longitude | -74.36 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Mar 8, 2026, 2:05 PM EDT (2026-03-08T14:05:06-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Mar 9, 2026, 6:45 AM EDT (2026-03-09T06:45:15-04:00) |
| Published | Mar 9, 2026, 6:45 AM EDT (2026-03-09T06:45:15-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated without Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | 475 Gallons per Minute Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | chiefoperator@fonda-fultonvillewastewater.gov |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2398861104519094",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "03/09/2026 10:45:15",
"notificationStatus": "Update",
"facilityName": "Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP NY0032433",
"facilityId": "NY0032433",
"countyName": "Montgomery",
"streetNumber": "29 south bridge street",
"streetName": "29 south bridge street fonda ny 12068",
"city": "fonda ny 12068",
"addressDescription": "waste water plant",
"latitude": "-74.3602",
"longitude": "42.9514",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "03/08/2026 18:05:06",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "03/10/2026 11:00:00",
"dischargeDuration": "40 Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "mohawk river",
"quantity": "475 Gallons per Minute Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated without Disinfection",
"dischargeDescription": "cloudy with pin floc",
"stepsToContain": "shut off aeration to contain solids",
"additionalInstructions": "[email removed]",
"geoaddress": "29 Bridge St S, Fonda, NY 12068, USA",
"impactedArea": "Unknown -",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - previous rain and mild temps",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "4",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "previous rain and mild temps",
"sprtkWebsiteUrl": "[email removed]"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 882,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-03-10T07:00:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within New York (checked against the geocode)"
},
"_volume_note": "a rate, not a volume",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0032433|29 south bridge street 29 south bridge street fonda ny 12068 fonda ny 12068|2026-03-08T18:05Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 2,
"of": 3,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2398173909756849",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2398826744790327"
}
} Source: Fonda-Fultonville Joint WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2398861104519094, reported Mar 9, 2026, 6:45 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.