DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Bloomingburg (V) WWTP, Jul 8, 2026

Ongoing (as reported) · Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

Source: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593783900660902, reported Jul 7, 2026, 3:08 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0208426). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.55370, -74.43490; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Shawngunk Kill”. Not linked to a mapped water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
ongoing, as last reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ongoing (as reported)
Material
“Partially Treated with Disinfection”
Volume
“Unknown Gallons Estimated” (estimated)
Volume as reported
“Unknown Gallons Estimated”

Advice from Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
Source record number
2593783900660902
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
Read the earlier version
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierny-dec-sprtk:2593783900660902
Source identifierny-dec-sprtk
Source record number2593783900660902
Earlier versionny-dec-sprtk:2600758927438838
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportOngoing (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierny-bloomingburg-v-wwtp
Sewer operatorBloomingburg (V) WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)NY0208426
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportShawngunk Kill
Linked watersNot provided
How this report was linked to the waternot linked to a mapped water
Latitude41.554
Longitude-74.435
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 8, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-07-08T10:00:00-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJul 7, 2026, 3:08 PM EDT (2026-07-07T15:08:41-04:00)
PublishedJul 7, 2026, 3:08 PM EDT (2026-07-07T15:08:41-04:00)
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z)
MaterialPartially Treated with Disinfection
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedUnknown Gallons Estimated
How volume was determinedestimated
AuthorityBloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "notificationId": "2593783900660902",
    "sprtkAirDateTime": "07/07/2026 19:08:41",
    "notificationStatus": "Update",
    "facilityName": "Bloomingburg (V) WWTP NY0208426",
    "facilityId": "NY0208426",
    "countyName": "Sullivan",
    "streetNumber": "10",
    "streetName": "Main St",
    "city": "Bloomingburg",
    "latitude": "-74.4349",
    "longitude": "41.5537",
    "sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/08/2026 14:00:00",
    "sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/07/2026 14:00:00",
    "dischargeDuration": "Apprx 24hrs Hours - Ongoing",
    "surfaceWater": "Yes",
    "receivingWaterBody": "Shawngunk Kill",
    "quantity": "Unknown Gallons Estimated",
    "treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
    "dischargeDescription": "Due to heavy, excessive rain, bypass of the cloth media filters is required. Excessive flow to the plant is causing hydraulic overload to the filters, causing excessive backwash and bottlenecking in post-eq tank.",
    "stepsToContain": "Continue to monitor weather conditions.",
    "geoaddress": "4 Main St, Bloomingburg, NY 12721, USA",
    "impactedArea": "-",
    "dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Excessive, heavy rain",
    "systemComponent": "-",
    "region": "3",
    "sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
    "sprtkExplanation": "Excessive, heavy rain"
  },
  "_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
  "_row": 4224,
  "_time_basis": {
    "air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
    "end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
  },
  "_projected_end": "2026-07-07T10:00:00-04:00",
  "_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
  "_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
  "_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
  "_chain": {
    "id": "key:NY0208426|10 main st bloomingburg|2026-07-06T14:00Z",
    "basis": "facility + address; the start was edited by 48.00 h after the New notice (joined to the open chain at the same place)",
    "position": 2,
    "of": 2,
    "head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2600758927438838",
    "latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593783900660902",
    "notices": [
      {
        "id": "2600758927438838",
        "status": "New",
        "aired": "2026-07-06T10:19:30-04:00"
      },
      {
        "id": "2593783900660902",
        "status": "Update",
        "aired": "2026-07-07T15:08:41-04:00"
      }
    ]
  }
}

Source: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2593783900660902, reported Jul 7, 2026, 3:08 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.