Reports /
Treatment bypass reported — Bloomingburg (V) WWTP, Jul 6, 2026
Ongoing (as reported) · Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
Source: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2600758927438838, reported Jul 6, 2026, 10:19 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, NY0208426). Outlet: not stated. Location: 41.55370, -74.43490; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Shawngunk Kill”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- ongoing, as last reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ongoing (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated with Disinfection”
- Volume
- “Unknown Gallons Estimated” (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “Unknown Gallons Estimated”
Advice from Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know
- Source record number
- 2600758927438838
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | ny-dec-sprtk:2600758927438838 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | ny-dec-sprtk |
| Source record number | 2600758927438838 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ongoing (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | ny-bloomingburg-v-wwtp |
| Sewer operator | Bloomingburg (V) WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | NY0208426 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Shawngunk Kill |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 41.554 |
| Longitude | -74.435 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 6, 2026, 10:00 AM EDT (2026-07-06T10:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 6, 2026, 10:19 AM EDT (2026-07-06T10:19:30-04:00) |
| Published | Jul 6, 2026, 10:19 AM EDT (2026-07-06T10:19:30-04:00) |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 3:40 PM EST (2026-11-02T20:40:35Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated with Disinfection |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Unknown Gallons Estimated |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.dec.ny.gov/fs/data/SPRTK_Data.xlsx |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"notificationId": "2600758927438838",
"sprtkAirDateTime": "07/06/2026 14:19:30",
"notificationStatus": "New",
"facilityName": "Bloomingburg (V) WWTP NY0208426",
"facilityId": "NY0208426",
"countyName": "Sullivan",
"streetNumber": "10",
"streetName": "Main St",
"city": "Bloomingburg",
"latitude": "-74.4349",
"longitude": "41.5537",
"sprtkStartDischargeDatetime": "07/06/2026 14:00:00",
"sprtkEndDischargeDatetime": "07/07/2026 14:00:00",
"dischargeDuration": "Apprx 24hrs Hours - Ongoing",
"surfaceWater": "Yes",
"receivingWaterBody": "Shawngunk Kill",
"quantity": "Unknown Gallons Estimated",
"treatedState": "Partially Treated with Disinfection",
"dischargeDescription": "Due to heavy, excessive rain, bypass of the cloth media filters is required. Excessive flow to the plant is causing hydraulic overload to the filters, causing excessive backwash and bottlenecking in post-eq tank.",
"stepsToContain": "Continue to monitor weather conditions.",
"geoaddress": "4 Main St, Bloomingburg, NY 12721, USA",
"impactedArea": "-",
"dischargeReason": "Weather Conditions - Excessive, heavy rain",
"systemComponent": "-",
"region": "3",
"sprtkDischargeWaterFlow": "Manmade",
"sprtkExplanation": "Excessive, heavy rain"
},
"_tab": "January 2026-August2026",
"_row": 4185,
"_time_basis": {
"air": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"start": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York",
"end": "UTC in the workbook (rows aired from late May 2025); converted to America/New_York"
},
"_projected_end": "2026-07-07T10:00:00-04:00",
"_projected_end_note": "NY-Alert requires an expected end time on every notice; this one is a projection, not a reported end",
"_coords": "latitude and longitude columns swapped; a street-address geocode chosen by the notifier",
"_event_type_basis": "partially treated discharge (treated state)",
"_volume_note": "first (New) notice: NY-Alert requires a volume and an end time up front, so this figure is the notifier's estimate or placeholder, not a measured total",
"_chain": {
"id": "key:NY0208426|10 main st bloomingburg|2026-07-06T14:00Z",
"basis": "facility + address + start",
"position": 1,
"of": 2,
"head": "ny-dec-sprtk:2600758927438838",
"latest": "ny-dec-sprtk:2593783900660902"
}
} Source: Bloomingburg (V) WWTP (NY DEC Sewage Pollution Right to Know), record 2600758927438838, reported Jul 6, 2026, 10:19 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 20:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.