Pennsylvania / Reports /
Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Erie Bureau of Sewers, Sep 3, 2026
Ended (as reported) · City of Erie CSO monitoring report (Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38)
Source: City of Erie CSO monitoring report (Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38), record 294143-20260903T0005, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:16 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Erie Bureau of Sewers (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, PA0026301). Outlet: 014 “CSO 014 - 12th Fren”. Location: 42.12353, -80.07959; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Mill Creek Tube to Lake Erie”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Lake Erie, PA. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- “0.06026 (column 'Discharge (Gallons)'; unit unconfirmed)” (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “0.06026 (column 'Discharge (Gallons)'; unit unconfirmed)”
Advice from City of Erie CSO monitoring report (Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Lake Erie: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 3, 2026, 12:05 AM EDT to Sep 3, 2026, 12:20 AM EDT
- Caution Lake Erie: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 3, 2026, 12:20 AM EDT to Sep 7, 2026, 12:20 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38
- Source record number
- 294143-20260903T0005
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | pa-erie:294143-20260903T0005 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | pa-erie |
| Source record number | 294143-20260903T0005 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | pa-erie |
| Sewer operator | City of Erie Bureau of Sewers |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | PA0026301 |
| Outlet number | 014 |
| Outlet name | CSO 014 - 12th Fren |
| Water named in the report | Mill Creek Tube to Lake Erie |
| Linked waters | lake-erie-pa |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | 42.124 |
| Longitude | -80.08 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 3, 2026, 12:05 AM EDT (2026-09-03T00:05:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 3, 2026, 12:20 AM EDT (2026-09-03T00:20:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 4:16 PM EST (2026-11-02T21:16:16Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | 0.06026 (column 'Discharge (Gallons)'; unit unconfirmed) |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | City of Erie CSO monitoring report (Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://telog.erie.pa.us/CSO.Monitoring/Report?startDate=1%2F1%2F2025+12%3A00%3A00+AM&endDate=11%2F3%2F2026+12%3A00%3A00+AM |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"CSO Site": "294143",
"Date Event Started": "9/3/2026 12:05:00 AM",
"Date Event Ended": "9/3/2026 12:20:00 AM",
"Discharge (Gallons)": "0.06026"
},
"meter_id": "294143",
"map_marker": {
"title": " 294143",
"location": "CSO 014 - 12th Fren",
"status": "Inactive",
"npdesNumber": "PA0026301",
"receivingStream": "Mill Creek Tube",
"affectedBodyOfWater": "Lake Erie",
"lat": 42.123533,
"lng": -80.079593
},
"volume_note": "The column is labelled 'Discharge (Gallons)', but values run from 0.0004 to about 306 per event; the unit is unconfirmed (it may be millions of gallons), so no gallon figure is given.",
"timezone_note": "The report states no time zone; times are read as America/New_York.",
"water_placement": {
"names": [
"Lake Erie",
"Mill Creek"
],
"without_water_record": [
"Mill Creek"
]
}
} Source: City of Erie CSO monitoring report (Great Lakes rule 40 CFR 122.38), record 294143-20260903T0005, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:16 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.