DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — City of Fredericksburg Wastewater Treatment Facility, Jun 17, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324024, reported Jun 18, 2026, 8:05 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: City of Fredericksburg Wastewater Treatment Facility (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0025127). Outlet: not stated. Location: 38.28811, -77.45616; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Hazel Run; UT of Rappahannock River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Rappahannock River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
not reported
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
none

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324024
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324024
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324024
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierva-fredericksburg
Sewer operatorCity of Fredericksburg Wastewater Treatment Facility
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0025127
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportHazel Run; UT of Rappahannock River
Linked watersrappahannock-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude38.288
Longitude-77.456
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 17, 2026, 10:45 AM EDT (2026-06-17T10:45:50-04:00)
EndedNot provided
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 18, 2026, 8:05 AM EDT (2026-06-18T08:05:23-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedJul 14, 2026, 4:09 PM EDT (2026-07-14T16:09:32-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallonsNot provided
Volume as reportedNot provided
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324024

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324024",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-06-17T10:45:50",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-06-18T08:05:23",
    "closed": "2026-07-14T16:09:32",
    "modified": "2026-07-14T16:09:32",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "SSO - Fredericksburg WWTF - City of F'Burg - Dixon St",
    "address": "1300 Dixon St",
    "city": "Fredericksburg",
    "zip": "22401",
    "county_city": "Fredericksburg City",
    "region": "Northern",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)",
      "Risk Tier 1"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Hazel Run",
    "other_waterbody": "UT of Rappahannock River",
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 1,
    "high": -1,
    "unit": "Unknown",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "City of Fredericksburg WWTF",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "City of Fredericksburg WWTP",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "SSO due to power failure at WWTP.  Power was restored, incident ceased, and five day report received.",
    "location_comment": "Near Blue Gray Pkwy and Dixon Street intersection at manholes 2099, 1187 and 9586",
    "closure_comment": "Incident had already ceased upon discovery.  Unable to provide SSO volume.  Five day letter rcvd."
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": null,
      "component": "Manhole",
      "component_id": 1,
      "volume_gal": null,
      "volume_unknown": "Y",
      "wet_weather": "Y",
      "treated": "N",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "TWTDS Electrical Failure"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": null,
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-06-18T08:05:23",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-18T09:35:39",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-18T09:35:39",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-22T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-14T16:09:32",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-06-18T08:05:23",
  "event_type_basis": "treatment-plant discharge not filed as a sanitary sewer overflow (category: Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s), Risk Tier 1)",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0025127",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0025127"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": "va-fredericksburg",
    "by_name": [
      "va-fredericksburg"
    ],
    "result": "by permit"
  },
  "volume_basis": null,
  "_ended_at_basis": null,
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Hazel Run; UT of Rappahannock River",
    "towns": [
      "Fredericksburg",
      "Fredericksburg City"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 38.28811,
    "lon": -77.456156,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "FC",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-06-17T10:45:50-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-06-18T08:05:23-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324024?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324024, reported Jun 18, 2026, 8:05 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.