DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported, Jun 28, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324224, reported Jun 28, 2026, 12:31 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0070670). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.82512, -82.46690; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Clinch River, VA. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“untreated sewage”
Volume
15,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“15,000 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324224
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324224
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324224
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeSanitary sewer overflow (SSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0070670
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportNot provided
Linked watersclinch-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water
Latitude36.825
Longitude-82.467
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJun 28, 2026, 2:00 AM EDT (2026-06-28T02:00:00-04:00)
EndedJun 28, 2026, 5:30 AM EDT (2026-06-28T05:30:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceJun 28, 2026, 12:31 PM EDT (2026-06-28T12:31:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedJul 2, 2026, 1:04 PM EDT (2026-07-02T13:04:16-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialuntreated sewage
Volume, in gallons15,000
Volume as reported15,000 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324224

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324224",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-06-28T02:00:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-06-28T12:31:00",
    "closed": "2026-07-02T13:04:16",
    "modified": "2026-07-02T13:04:16",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "SSO - Town of Dungannon - Dungannon WWTP - Riverside Campground",
    "address": "260 Waterford Ave.",
    "city": "Dungannon",
    "zip": "24245",
    "county_city": "Scott County",
    "region": "Southwest",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Sanitary Sewer Overflow"
    ],
    "waterbody": null,
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": null,
    "water_threatened": "N",
    "low": null,
    "high": null,
    "unit": null,
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Dungannon WWTP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "Town of Dungannon",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "On June 28, 2026, [name removed], Operator for Town of Dungannon, provided email notification reporting that there was an overflow at the campground adacent to the Dungannon WWTP. [name removed] also sent an email reporting that at approximately 2:00am on June 28th, he switched the treatment plant to storm mode to prevent an unwanted discharge caused by heavy rainfall. This involved turning off aeration to basins one and two. The plant will remain in storm mode until the collection system is sufficiently pumped down. The 5 day written report was provided via email on June 29, 2026 and noted that the overflow began at 2:00am and ended at 5:30am on June 28th.  The volume of the overflow was estimated at 15,000 gallons and the overflow did not reach state waters. On June 30, 2026, [name removed] provided an email noting that they have completed repairs to the influent station, and all three pumps in the wet well are now operational. Additionally, aeration has been restarted in basins one and two, and they have returned to normal operation. The incident was closed on July 2, 2026.",
    "location_comment": "260 Waterford Ave., Dungannon, VA",
    "closure_comment": "The overflow stopped on June 28, 2026, and the 5-day written report was provided via email on June 29, 2026, should further action be needed it will be taken by DEQ SWRO Water Compliance section staff"
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": 3.5,
      "component": "Pump Station",
      "component_id": 11,
      "volume_gal": 15000,
      "volume_unknown": "N",
      "wet_weather": "Y",
      "treated": "N",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "Pump Station"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Sewage on Land Surface with Potential Human Exposure"
      ],
      "corrective_action": "Staff placed the sewer plant into storm mode to prevent a solid blowout. For the cleanup, the affected area was raked and applied lime pellets to the ground.  All 3 pumps in the wet well were repaired and placed back into service",
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": null,
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-06-28T00:00:00",
      "type": "Correspondence Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-29T00:00:00",
      "type": "Correspondence Sent"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-29T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-06-30T00:00:00",
      "type": "Correspondence Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-02T11:48:31",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-02T11:52:06",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-02T11:52:07",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-07-02T13:04:17",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-07-02T11:48:31",
  "event_type_basis": "DEQ category Sanitary Sewer Overflow",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0070670",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0070670"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 3.5 h (sewage report)",
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": null,
    "towns": [
      "Dungannon",
      "Scott County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 36.825117,
    "lon": -82.466899,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-06-28T02:00:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-06-28T12:31:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324224?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324224, reported Jun 28, 2026, 12:31 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.