Clinch River
River in Virginia, past Artrip, Blackford, Burtons Ford, Carterton, Clinchport, Dungannon, Flat Rock, Lebanon, Nash Ford and Saint Paul
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work
Sources checked: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related (last successful check 2026-11-03 02:42 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Clinch River
No downstream stretch has a current status here as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check the reports below.
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.
Reports linked to Clinch River
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Aug 19, 11:00 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 80,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:30 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 438 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:30 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 13, 12:00 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:30 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 19, 10:00 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 30,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 45,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 17,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to Dec 4 ’25, 10:57 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 80,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 2 ’25, 10:14 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 15,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 22 ’25, 10:00 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · Bypass · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:30 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 45,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 30,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 6 ’25, 9:45 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 75,604 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 16 ’25, 9:00 AM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 16 ’25, 6:00 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · 20,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to Feb 13 ’25, 6:00 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 1 ’25, 1:00 PM | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (7 here) · 2025 (17 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Boat launches
- Blackford Bridge · Boat ramp
- Burton's Ford, Burtons Ford · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Carterton · Boat ramp
- Clinch River State Park access, Artrip · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Clinchport · Boat ramp
- Dungannon · Boat ramp
- Nash's Ford, Nash Ford · Boat ramp
- Old Castlewood, Saint Paul · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Puckett's Hole, Lebanon · Boat ramp
- Rexrena (Copper Creek), Clinchport · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- St Paul, Saint Paul · Boat ramp
- State Line, Flat Rock · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Clinch River on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- North Fork Holston River, VA No current status shown about 35 km away
- Russell Fork, VA No current status shown about 49 km away
Sources covering this water
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-03 02:42 UTC
24 records linked to this water. Updated .